Anime bad for kids

KOTA BARU: Japanese anime has been identified as dangerous as they contain negative elements which can corrupt the minds of Malaysian children, said Film Censorship Board chairman Datuk Mohd Hussain Shafie.

Some of the anime features scantily-clad women or scenes which are not good for children.

A colleague of mine pasted this in the chatroom, and addressed this to me. I’m an anime fan, and I think the whole world knows that.

I don’t want to agree with this Datuk but I have to. The two years since I start actively following anime seasons, I’ve come across tons of anime that contain fanservice. For those of you who are not familiar with this term, fanservice simply means excessive boobies and panties shots. Besides that, the number of anime involving bisexuals or homosexuals is also increasing. I’m not saying that having these sexual orientations are wrong. We adults know what we want and can think rationally. We know what is for us and what is not. But what about kids?

Deep down, I want the anime industry to produce enjoyable animes for all ages. Perhaps not possible, very much like the movie industry. That’s why I’m always glad to have stuff like Kaichou wa Maid-Sama, Durarara!, K-ON, Kimi ni Todoke, Sora no Woto, Angel Beats!, Working!! these past few months. They’re enjoyable without being excessively obscene.

It’s not like I don’t watch fanservice-laden anime. It’s just that I prefer not to have to watch panties shots or insanely enormous boobs everytime I watch an anime. I sometimes cringed at the sight of it.

Nevertheless, they’d better not start banning anime. Because if they didn’t ban some of the movies that has high level of violent and sexual content, they shouldn’t come about banning my anime. Period.

4 thoughts on “Anime bad for kids

  1. Here’s the thing, anime’s marketing for teens and young adults is rapidly increasing so I think they moved away from children…or maybe in Japan children learn about the birds and the bees at an earlier age. As for Westerners, personally I lost interest in what most North Americans think about anime because they’ve practically lived their youths watching shounen and mecha. You can understand why I don’t take their opinions seriously.

    Back on topic, both cartoons and anime are pretty much unsafe for kids these days. Let’s face it, times change and the risque levels in animation continue to increase. Even Cartoon Network’s shows seem geared toward adults…The Regular Show, Amazing World of Gumball, Adventure Time just to name a few. I suppose the only difference is that the West uses more on verbal insensitivity and dirty jokes while Japan mainly uses the feminine body and in some possible cases, homosexuality..though you know where I stand in a certain part of a certain homosexual genre…teehee.

    • Oh, a comment on my very first post! haha.

      Not just anime and cartoons. There are video games, Internet, this, that and the list goes on. I seriously have no idea what’s safe for kids these days, or what they play with growing up.

      Well, a year has passed since the government voiced their concerns about this and nothing has changed.

      • Currently the battle against SOPA and IPA continues. I do hope everything will work out in the end. I swear if they take down my blog due to copyright, there will be heel to pay!

        Back on topic, yeah, so much violence in media right now that only blaming one form of entertainment medium has become laughable as ALL of them are unsafe for children.

        • As far as I’m concerned, SOPA brings more damage than good but we’ll see how it goes.

          Exactly! Threatening to ban things isn’t going to solve the root of issue.

Leave a Reply

