Ramblings on Gurren Lagann

In their closed-off underground village, Kamina and Simon chafe at the limits imposed by the village elder. Yet all this will change, when Simon stumbles across a fantastic device – just as the village’s peace is broken by a violent intrusion.

-Anime News Network

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

This is officially the first mecha anime I saw! I never knew I’d stay on till the end. I could’ve easily drop it at the turn of different events. Don’t get me wrong. Overall, the anime is enjoyable. It made me laughed, and that’s good. TBH, I was never once bored. At the same time, it made me wanna strangle the egoistic characters.

Kamina is the first guy I wanted to strangle everytime he refused to listen to advices from his team. The many situations he was in suggested that it’s best for him to retreat but he thinks that isn’t manly. Whateverrr. And he’s loud. While I was shocked to see Kamina died so early in the series, I don’t think I mourned his death. But who would’ve thought that his only defeat resulted in his very own death?

The rest of the Dai-Gurren team who made it as government officers after the seven years timeskip is equally strangle-worthy. Every single time these people started reminiscing about how they fought the Spiral King and that they are strong. Bleh. Their attitudes are just zzzz. Major turnoff for me. Let’s just say their confidence aren’t as appealing as Luffy and Naruto’s. At least the latter two showed diligence in their quest for their big ambitions. Those guys? They’re just loud. Real loud.

Again, I’ll repeat. I never thought I would complete watching the series. This means that the anime had some sort of selling point for me to stick around. Boota? Nah. It’s the liveliness of the series. There’re just so much actions going on that keeps me on the edge of my seat. The battles are never boring. The skills change from time to time. I tell you, the battles at the end of the series is just sooooo good. My eyes are just glued to the screen, without even blinking. Besides, I admire the spirit of teamwork shown here. Every time they scream “Who The Hell Do You Think We Are?”, it just feel like these people really are there together without a hint of selfishness. They’re doing this not because they want to get the glory; they’re doing this because it’s what they want to do. And I think that’s cool.

I enjoy the overall delivery of the music as well. It’s got this hip-hop feel to it and that fits the ruggedness of the show. I have to say this, the music accompanying the final episode is just so fitting. The actions and the music are so in sync that you would just enjoy the whole battle. It’s that good. I especially enjoy “Libera Me From Hell” from Iwasaki Taku. Love it! Listen here to see it you like it too.

Suffice it to say, these selling points are what kept me going even though I’m bloody pissed with some of the characters.

P.S I feel bad for Yoko. The two guys I assume she was attracted to ended up dead just after they kissed. How sad can this really be?

2 thoughts on “Ramblings on Gurren Lagann

  1. Interesting, you’re the 1st person I’ve met who was turned off by the epitome of manliness that is Kamina. A man who even inspired a person who isn’t much of an animeniac like us to become manlier.

Leave a Reply

