Ramblings on Clannad

Tomoya Okazaki is a third year high school student resentful of his life. His mother passed away from a car accident when he was younger, causing his father to resort to alcohol and gambling. This results in fights between the two until Tomoya’s shoulder is injured in a fight. Since then, Tomoya has had distant relationships with his father, causing him to become a delinquent over time. While on a walk to school, he meets a strange girl named Nagisa Furukawa who is a year older, but is repeating due to illness. Due to this, she is often alone as most of her friends have moved on. The two begin hanging out and slowly, as time goes by, Tomoya finds his life shifting in a new direction.

– AnimeNewsNetwork

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

I’ve heard of Clannad and Clannad After Story ever since I picked up watching anime as a hobby couple years back. I just never got around to watch it until recently. I’m quite happy that I took time to go through the series.

When I started watching Clannad, I forgot it was a game before it was an anime. I was bitching about why is this guy poking his nose into the different girls’ businesses. Haha. If it’s really first a game, this explains well the harem genre I see. I think what sets Clannad apart from most harem anime I saw is it contains no fanservice. Let me repeat myself again. No. Fanservice. Great!

While the anime generally talks about everyday school life of Okazaki Tomoya and his friends, it isn’t the mindless slice of life thing I see these days. Don’t get me wrong. I have no problem with mindless anime. They’re good for me to relax with.

Back to Clannad – it has some development albeit not much, character-wise and plot-wise. Tomoya first started out as a deliquent who has no purpose in life. Later on, the story went on to tell how he learned the meaning of building true relationships with those around him. I don’t really want to talk about Tomoya himself. Rather, I want to talk about the emotions projected from the anime itself.

The stories of girls were very sad, particularly Fuko’s. But I couldn’t comprehend why there’s a need to introduce some sort of a phantom figure into the series. A girl fell into coma for two years but others are able to see her at school? Seriously? I didn’t like the idea. It made the series less believable, especially when she started appearing as a “fairy godmother” in a running gag. But I gotta say, her story if the one I find most touching. The girls’ stories differ from one another but it’s family-centric. It’s always about sad stories behind her, being any of the girls, families. This somewhat amplifies the importance of family ties.

Speaking of which, is it just in anime or is it true that folks in Japan just love to live their little ones at home? Are the kids even allowed to live in a house without legal guardians? What’s the legal age really? There are just too many animes with kids, who are known as orphans, living on their own with no sights of a single adult. It’s disturbing……

Back to Clannad again – being sad is just a tiny bit of what I feel here. Most of time, I’ll be laughing at the dumb things Youhei and Tomoya do. The jokes, sacarsms, pranks and pointless duels. They would’ve made a good combination as stand-up comedians if they weren’t 2D. Really. I don’t know how deep is their friendship, it wasn’t revealed. It seemed to me that Tomoya usually takes Youhei for granted. Despite crashing at his place most of the time, Tomoya never seem to really be helping him a lot. Well, not that Youhei has any real problems to begin with. But I believe they will be on each other’s side when the need arises. Anyways, the duo is a good laugh. And, they aren’t the only good source of laughter. Suffice it to say, the anime is loaded with humor. Since I have a roommate with me who doesn’t enjoy anime, I have to surpress my laughter a lot of time. I wished I could just laugh out loud but that would be very inconsiderate of me. >.<

Sometimes, I feel like watching Clannad brings out the kid in me (Note – I’m old already). I remembered having a goofy smile on my face the first time I heard Nagisa singing “Dango Daikazoku”. It’s suuuuch a cute song. Just imagine kids will nod their heads from side to side when they hear this song. You can listen to it here. It’s suuuuuch a happy song. I think this is a very good song to cheer people up. Nagisa is such a sweet character. So is Ryou but I see less of her.

Sadness, painful feeling of sacrificing one’s dreams, goofy smiles, laughters, true friendship, unconditional love. A whirlwind of emotions, though it’s nothing compared to what I feel when I saw Nana. That feeling from Nana is at a whole new level. I may write a post about Nana some other time.

Now that I’m done with Clannad and I get a positive feeling overall, I’m continuing it with Clannad After Story.

P.S. I totally forgot to mention about the adorable Botan. Puhi. Puhi.

Leave a Reply

