Jumping Just Sucks

I might’ve taken longer than the average time required to complete God of War: Ghost of Sparta. Reason being I suck at jumping. Jumping in games is just strangle-worthy, really. Damn! In areas where there’s a huge gap, hardly do I succeed jumping across on first try. That sucks but the desire to complete the game is too overwhelming for me to give up halfway. I admit I’m frustrated sometimes but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do to get things dones no?

I listed down a few places where I took the longest time to get it right. They are not listed in any particular order, just whichever first that came to mind.

  1. Jumping onto a piece of molten rock at The Caldera. I got myself drown in lava and burnt a few times.
  2. The scenes during the battle with Erinys were marvelous. I get to appreciate more of these scenes cuz well, I failed numerous times trying to jump or grab onto her on time.
  3. When trying to escape the burning bridge in Streets of Heraklion. I swear I fell down into some deep, dark places countless times.
  4. I fell into the water (and electrocuted?) a couple of times when jumping across after taking down Lanaeus in Nexus of Atlantis.
  5. Failed the numerous jumps tons of time in Temple of Thanatos. I lost count, really.
  6. The swingings at various points. I died so many times cuz I just couldn’t jump to release Kratos quickly (or slowly) enough.

At this point, I think I’m strangle-worthy for being lousy at jumping in games. I tell ya, I have a perfect reason for sucking at jumping my character. I didn’t grow up play Super Mario. Tee-hee!

P.S God of War: Ghost of Sparta is truly an amazing game. You’ll be totally amazed by the graphics and soundtrack. Try it if you haven’t.

5 thoughts on “Jumping Just Sucks

  1. I have the opposite problem while playing Bayonetta. sure there are some difficult jumps but it isn’t because of my lack of platforming skills (I did grow up with Mario after all) it’s how obsessed this game is with 3 things:
    -Surprise attacks/platforms breaking.
    -Quick Time Events.
    -Ridiculous difficulty in the 3rd quarter.
    This game gets super hard as you progress further.

    I don’t know what is about the GoW series but I never got into it for some reason. I guess I should but only because a woman recommended it. I tell you the power of female gamers shouldn’t be underestimated.

    • Whoa, Bayonetta is not my kind of game then. I have hard enough time with God of War as it is, with all the jumping that is. Don’t you feel your heart thumping a little faster than usual when you’re trying to make it to the other side (wherever that is) before the platform breaks? Lol. Experienced that for a few times.

      • Hmm, reminds me of the same experience playing Shadow of the Colossus. If you haven’t played it on the PS2, do so. Even better now that they released the Ico/SotC double pack for PS3. BTW, if you’re ever in the mood for a good fighting game bout, check out my collection and let me know if you’re interested in facing me one day.

Leave a Reply

