Clannad After Story Afterthoughts

A sequel to the recently wrapped anime based on the Key Clannad franchise. After Story is a path that opens in the original visual novel after all the other paths have been opened.

Life continues on for Tomoya. A few months have passed since he confessed his love to Nagisa. Now entering the second semester, he continues to meet a variety of different people, expanding his own world in the process. As well, Tomoya and Nagisa’s relationship begins to enter a level of intimacy unlike before. Through his relationship with Nagisa, and his various encounters, Tomoya begins to understand the meaning and importance of family. Unfortunately, as Tomoya and Nagisa begin their own family together, they are faced with many hardships and challenges along the way.

– AnimeNewsNetwork

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

I was rather confused with the ending and all, but Mr.Google helped cleared things up a bit. I read an article here, so now I understood why there was another timeline in which Furukawa Nagisa lived. I like that ending. 🙂

When I finally started watching Clannad After Story, I had thoughts about dropping it. It was boring. It carries a little more serious tone than Clannad. It was still funny, but just not as funny as the first. Besides, the supernatural elements in Clannad After Story became too ridiculous. Having Fuko as some form of a lingering spirit is one thing; having a cat formed into a human in order to grant a wish and subsequently falling in love with a human is another thing! Even so, I’m glad that I didn’t drop it – a result a having too much free time. Ha! The series started picking up momentum after Nagisa graduated. This is also when all the sadness truly begins….

Okazaki Tomoya certainly lived a very hard and sad life. It almost seems like everything around him just fell apart little by little. It’s almost as if he’s not allowed to be happy. This was not so evident in Clannad, which is why I find it sooooo sad to watch the second half of the series. I believe he died of grief? The whole of second half my heart just aches seeing how Tomoya lived through his life. It’s a terrible life, really. The anime did the job well enough to make me feel the pain Tomoya went through. His despair when Nagisa fell ill and died, and later Ushio too is reachable. As I saw Tomoya’s love for Nagisa remained unchanged through the thick and thin, and even after her death, I couldn’t help but drawing comparison to Kaichō wa Maid-sama!’s Usui Takumi. Both are extremely devoted to the women they love; the only difference is that Tomoya is more of a human and Takumi is painted too perfectly. Tomoya never let himself forgets Nagisa.

Ushio, on the other hand, made the whole sadness a little bearable. She’s such a cutie. She resembled Nagisa in many ways. Her looks. Her will. She’s such a strong little girl. She insisted to walk on her own even though she was already very ill. I could almost feel Tomoya’s pain watching his little girl suffering as she slowly took her steps in a cold, lonely winter. Check out Ushio’s voice actress here. It’s a OMG for me! I was seriously expecting a child voicing her cuz Ushio’s just so cute. I guess it’s a job well done for Koorogi Satomi-san.

I still prefer Clannad but I can’t really choose since both series are closely related. I admit I enjoyed the first more. However, Clannad After Story’s story centered around the Okazaki is highly emotional and I believe reaching out to the audience wayyy better than any of the arcs in Clannad.

Sigh. Both Clannad series are officially the saddest anime I’ve ever saw!

By the way, Tomoya did leave Ushio alone at home while he’s working after her school sessions. So does this really mean that little children are left alone on their own in Japan?

P.S Botan is sooooooooooo NOT cute here.

8 thoughts on “Clannad After Story Afterthoughts

  1. Botan grew up too, of course. But it’s cute how children use him as a slide. ^_^

    Personally, I liked both Clannad and After Story. The first one had me crying. The second one had me crying even more. It’s amazing how the characters illicit such strong emotional responses from their audiences. I’ve never watched a show as sad and as emotionally-driving as the Clannad franchise. ^_^

    • I know…but he was soooo cute when he was little Botan. >.<

      Yeah, Clannad series is highly emotional. I think I used up a box of tissue when watching the last bit of After Story. My heart wrecked when I saw how Ushio and Tomoya like that. Still does when I think of them now T.T

  2. Haha. Yeah, me too. The scene between Tomoya and Ushio in the flower field was really emotional too.

    ‘Sanae-san said that the only places I can cry are in the bathroom…and in Daddy’s arms.’ *breaks down into a torrent of tears*

      • Yes. She’s just a kid and she’s learned to control her emotions and all that. And she’s such a cute kid. It was really sad when she died. I can watch After Story over and over again and still cry over everything. T_T

        P.S. Can I add you to my blogroll? Teehee~ ^_^

Leave a Reply

