Otaku in Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai

Kyōsuke Kōsaka, a normal seventeen-year-old high school student living in Chiba, has not gotten along with his younger sister Kirino in years. For longer than he can remember, Kirino has ignored his comings and goings and looked at him with spurning eyes. It seemed as if the relationship between Kyōsuke and his sister, now fourteen, would continue this way forever. One day however, Kyōsuke finds a DVD case of a magical girl anime which had fallen in his house’s entrance way. To Kyōsuke’s surprise, he finds a hidden eroge inside the case and he soon learns that both the DVD and the eroge belong to Kirino. That night, Kirino brings Kyōsuke to her room and reveals herself to be an otaku with an extensive collection of moe anime and younger sister-themed eroges she has been collecting in secret. Kyōsuke quickly becomes Kirino’s confidant for her secret hobby.

– Wikipedia

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

This is, by far, the anime with the longest title that I know of. I had to google everytime I want to know the full name. I just can’t remember. This is when I’m absolutely thankful for Japanese’s love for shortening words. OreImo will just do.

The comedic nature of this anime attracted me to watch it. Besides, I’ve always enjoyed any anime with a lead character being overly obsessed with otakuness. The ones I know of are the always adorable Kawazoe Tamaki of Bamboo Blade fame and everybody’s favorite Izumi Konata of Lucky Star fame. Now, Kōsaka Kirino fits the bill.

Back to the gist of anime, OreImo really paint the general public perception of otakuness and all that is to being an otaku well. Each episode, audiences are fed with different highlights in this anime/gaming/manga universe. Comiket (I don’t think I wanna go anymore). Eroge. Novels. Anime. Cosplay. Social perceptions. One must sort of know this subcategory of Japan pop culture to know what’s going on. I remember me being absolutely clueless to half the things Konata said back in the Lucky Star days.

Unlike Konata and Tamaki whom I absolutely adore, with Kirino I sorta develop a love-hate relationship. I adore her for her love for her hobbies. I hate her for being such a beeyatch. She’s such a spoiled brat. Sometimes, I think she’s just too full of herself. What’s really annoying is that she gets what she wants. EVERYTIME! Her bff and families all gave into to her hobbies because they care about her. I can’t say if she cares for them equally. Most likely no.

On the contrary, I like Kuroneko. Her gothic appearance – lovely!

I can never relate to Kyōsuke. His almost selflessness, protective nature for the little sister whom he hates is, frankly, not something I see everyday. In reality, which sibling would take the fall for their brother/sister’s mistakes and beg on their behalf while declaring hatred for them? Culture difference maybe? Who knows. Although I understood a little after seeing the final episode; he does care for her.

I don’t really see much of development in the siblinghood of the Kōsakas. They seem to be on good terms at the end. What I really see is the bits and pieces of Japan pop culture here and there. I accept that. It’s only 12 episodes and I don’t think it’s meant to be an anime with heavy plot. If you’re enticed by the whole otaku thing and you’d like to see what’s it really like in 3D, pop a visit to Danny Choo’s blog. It’s loaded with goodies.

The title of each episodes, I noticed – while contains keyword that hinted the content of the episode, the overall meaning of the episode sometimes doesn’t match the title. For example, the 10th episode’s title is “There’s No Way My Little Sister Can Cosplay Like This”. As far as I’m concerned, Kirino didn’t cosplay. She was only there among the audience. Instead her best friend’s friend, who is a otaku-hater, cosplayed. See? It doesn’t match. Not that this is too big a deal but still…bah…

A little trivia here. Did you know that Manami’s voice actress is the very same as my K-ON!’s favorite character Tainaka Ritsu? Gawd, they sound sooooo different! Good job, Satō Satomi-san! Although her K-ON colleague Taketatsu Ayana voiced Kirino but I totally know it’s her. So nah..nothing to gush about…

Overall, OreImo took me to for a fun ride. It’s not boring albeit not very exciting. It did enough to make me continue watching. I like how it ended. It brought forth the closure I’m looking for. That’s my opinion.

3 thoughts on “Otaku in Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai

  1. Holy cow, how to sump up my thoughts on this show and its alternate route in short…I honestly can’t. Instead I’ll just be lazy/selfish and recommend reading my reviews. I apologize for my laziness madame. Let’s just say I absolutely loved the original 12 episode show and thought it ended perfectly, the alternate route however, I had my peeves but still enjoyed it regardless.

Leave a Reply

