Hoshiko’s Best Anime 2010

Oh my, 2010 is really coming to an end – I didn’t even notice until this morning. I mean, I know it’s December and I know it’s almost Christmas, but the realization of 2010 drawing to end only hit me. Yes, I’m slow. Ugh!

Alrighty. I don’t think I watch enough this year’s releases to round up a Top 10 Best Anime of 2010 or something like that. So, I’m not going to force myself to make that list. I decided, however, to just list down anime I watch and that I like. That’s fair no?

I’m gonna start with the one I like best.

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

Kimi ni Todoke
I know this started airing last year but the series only ended this year so I’ll treat this as one of the best releases in 2010. 😛 Kimi ni Todoke has one of the best development I saw, in story and characters. It showed how Sawako is able to break out of her cacoon and become the butterfly she is now. Sawako’s easily misunderstood and because she’s such a sweetie, things were even rougher. I’m glad she made some amazing friends throughout her journey. When I mention strong development in characters, I meant all of the five (six?) characters. I feel like I understood each of the character well enough to know why they react the way they did. This seldom happens with supporting characters as they are usually given less priority in character development. Oh, I can’t wait to see the second season, airing 4th January 2011.

Durarara!!
I find Durarara!! has a unique way of telling stories. It’s a refreshing change from the usual anime I follow. What I like best are the mysteries lingering around. It introduced a lot of different elements – supernatural, romance, high school life and so on. In my perspective, Durarara!! showed the power of networking. Almost everyone in Durarara!! is connected to each other in one way or another. The six degree of separation anyone? Besides, both opening and ending songs of Durarara!! just rock.

Occult Academy
I sense that not a lot will agree with me on this one, which is a very sad case. It’s very entertaining (for me). It was released in season full of supernatural-themed anime and it emerged as the winner. Being a horror genre anime, coupled with quirky sense of humor, this anime is a blast. If you’re not a fan of ghost stories, rest be assured, it is not that scary. You may end up trying to wipe your happy tears more than trying to hide your face behind a huge pillow. Trust me. I know.

Working!!
Working!! is definitely a surprise winner in the slice-of-life genre. Although I find Inami’s androphobia sometimes overshadowed the whole series, it’s still fun to watch. There are just these little, little things that make you laugh. Suffice it to say, you’ll never watch an episode without laughing. At the time of writing this, I can’t recall if there are times I’m bored with it like I do with K-ON!! – so that means there are no extraordinarily boring episodes no? Good! Plus, it has such a cute opening song. Nothing beats having a cheery song to greet you at the start of a series.

Angel Beats!
After watching both of the Clannad anime series, I realize that Key has the cunning ability of creating joy and sorrow all at once in an anime. This is definitely a unique quality. Haha. I saw Angel Beats! before I saw Clannad. In all three anime, I experience extreme sorrow and joy (as in laughing almost too hard). That said, Angel Beats! has a touching story line although it has very lousy ending, which is why it’s placed the last on my list here. Angel Beats! posed some mysteries to keep me sticking around. Like why is Tenshi a.k.a Kanade fighting Yuri & Co and such. All these factors are sure win for me. How could I forget Tenshi’s skills? That deserves some bonus points too.

I think that’s about all the new releases I truly enjoyed this year. Happy Anime-ing 2011!

Leave a Reply

