Hoshiko’s Choice of 2010 Anime Songs

2010 has certainly been a big year for me and my indulgence in anything that is anime. That itself has pros and cons. I won’t be going into details on those but instead this post will focus on the delightful anime songs we have for this year.

I’ve only started listening to anime songs or Japanese songs the beginning of 2010. The change came when I heard the songs in the shōjo anime NANA. I believe I’ve mentioned that I wanted a NANA soundtrack very badly no? I still haven’t got it yet. Fancy giving it to me as a Christmas present? Suffice it to say, NANA soundtrack is loaded with wonderful songs. Can’t even pick a favorite. I quickly became a fan of Olivia Lufkin. I find her interpretation and delivery of her songs very (can’t find any positive, good word to describe).

Since NANA, which I saw the end of last year, I began opening my ears to the songs in anime. Anime is the only channel I get my Japanese songs fix. I seldom listen to the radio here, and even if I do the chances of them playing K-Pop is higher than J-Pop. ‘Nuff of my crap, and let’s get down to the list of my song choices.

  1. Uragiri no Yuuyake from Theatre Brook (Durarara!!) – Very energetic song. Pump up the adrenalin, ya know. Haha. It’s something I can listen to whole day at work. Very energetic. You can listen to it here.
  2. Butterfly from On/Off (Durarara!!) – I absolutely adore the piano arrangement at one part of the song. Of course the overall delivery of the song is good. You can listen to it here.
  3. Someone Else from Asumi Kana (Working!!) – Absolutely adorable. Cute song. Cheerful. Good to listen when you’re down. Ha! You can listen to it here.
  4. Trust Me from Matsushita Yūya (Durarara!!) – Very hip hop. A tune definitely to dance to. It’s light, something to listen to while driving early in the morning. You can listen to it here.
  5. No, Thank You! from Hikasa Yoko (K-ON!!) – Maybe it’s the guitar and drum that got me hook on this one. I bet the singer, who voiced Akiyama Mio, is breathless by the end of the song. It simply mouthful of words. Still, I love the beat. You can listen to it here.
  6. Angel Beats! PV (Angel Beats!) – I know. I know. This isn’t exactly a song, and I don’t really know what’s the actual title of this erm, song. I just had to add it on the list because it is one of the erm, songs I’m listening to frequently. Lurve it! You can listen to it here.

That’s it. Short list, but they’re all goooood. Enjoy them yourselves by clicking the links to YouTube. 🙂

Leave a Reply

