Roller Coaster Ride in Amagami SS

A second-year high school boy finds himself uneasy during Christmas time due to an experience in the past. However, this year at Christmas, he gets his last chance to ask out a graduating female senior named Haruka Morishima — or one of several other classmates. The story of the anime will be arranged in an omnibus format, with each heroine getting her own version of the story animated. Each heroine will sing her own version of the ending theme song.

– AnimeNewsNetwork

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

Perhaps I didn’t realize Amagami SS was a dating simulation game for PS2, so I was literally shocked to see a “10 years later” when Morishima-senpai’s arc ended. Amagami SS may have used a different approach in telling the stories of the different timelines. Or so I think. Either way, I was ready to drop the anime but decided against it. I probably stuck around for as long as I did because I find the character designs, the art in general, very beautiful.

No, it isn’t because of the “10 years later” that I almost drop this series. It’s more like I find Morishima-senpai an utterly weird character. She’s mental and strangle-worthy. Saying her childish is only being lenient. Sigh. For what’s worth, I’m glad I picked it up again cuz Kaoru’s arc was fantastic! The best arc ever. Only this time I changed my tactic in approaching Amagami SS. I waited the arc to complete before watching it. A girl’s arc takes 4 episodes to complete so I just have to wait one month before watching it again. Those breaks sort of helped in that sense. And because there’s this fantastic arc in the form of Kaoru’s arc, I decided Amagami SS wasn’t that bad after all…

WRONG! Sae’s arc was horrible. Her squeaky voice. It’s like long nails scratching the blackboard. Ugh! Her arc is just weird. My just-changed opinion of the anime just dropped drastically. Hence, the title of this post. It really was like a roller coaster ride with this one. But I’m glad the weirdness ended with her. I was able to recover with the rest of the remaining arcs. They aren’t as good as Kaoru’s arc, but at an acceptable level.

If I were to rank all the arcs, it would be as follow.

  1. Tanashima Kaoru
  2. Sakurai Rihoko
  3. Ayatsuji Tsukasa
  4. Nanasaki Ai
  5. Morishima Haruka & Nakata Sae (can’t decide which is worst. Both of them are equally baaaaad!)

The reason why I enjoyed Rihoko’s arc second it’s because it’s just simply a sweet, innocent crush. The ending wasn’t as expected but it showed something different than the usual ones. Tsukasa’s arc came in third because that sort of development is believable, and she isn’t that much of a bad character despite her almost having a split personality disorder. I’ve seen so many people who are so nice with their friends but terrible with their family so yes, she’s normal. Ai’s arc came in fourth only because it doesn’t weird me out like the remaining two. Ha! That said, it’s not really that fun to watch either.

I should also mention that Amagami SS has a 25th episode featuring Kamizaki Risa as the heroine. I don’t really know what’s the point of having an extra episode, but at least I finally met who was the one who dumped Tachibana Jun’ichi that Christmas.

It’s truly a wonder why I put up with Amagami SS. Is it really because it’s beautiful? Or because I wanted to see how Tachibana Jun’ichi’s overcome his heartbreak. Speaking of which, I barely saw his “sanctuary” (his wardrobe) after a few arcs. Hmm..I wonder what happened to it…

Either way, I’m glad the timing of the end of the series is in line with real world Christmas since the anime talks A LOT about Christmas. Merry Christmas, my readers.

Leave a Reply

