Makoto Time Travels

When 17-year-old Makoto Konno gains the ability to, quite literally, “leap” backwards through time, she immediately sets about improving her grades and preventing personal mishaps. However, she soon realises that changing the past isn’t as simple as it seems, and eventually, will have to rely on her new powers to shape the future of herself and her friends.

– AnimeNewsNetwork

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

“The Girl Who Leapt Through Time” is everything as the title says. In other words, it’s very predictable. Audiences will see scenes being repeated in a different manner. Obviously. Anyone would wanna relive any happy moments over and over again or make amends certain things in the past if they can leap through time. I’d want that. It is what Makoto did.

Predictably, bad things happened as Makoto continued on recklessly leaping through time. As much as I like to complain the predictability of the movie, I can’t. It is a movie that focuses around the time-traveling phenomenon.  While it resembles other similarly themed movies, this anime movie is special in its own way. Makoto, the protagonist, who initially leapt through time for her own advantage, later on began to try help her friends instead. Of course, that’s after she learned the consequences of time leaping. From this experience, Makoto has matured a little. She realized her own feelings for Chiaki, and has also learned to be a little bit more considerate of those around her. Before this whole bizarre event happened to her, she doesn’t really know what she wants. This may have changed after that.

Plot-wise, it is very entertaining. It has mixture of comedy, suspense and well, a little bit of romance and whatnot. Makoto herself is a funny character. Her carefree attitude is perhaps what makes the story outstanding in its own way. The sequences are also well thought of. Also, the music is noteworthy. The piano piece accompanied the scenes in which Makoto first encounter the time-traveling device is just perfect. Hit your rewind button. Close your eyes when the scene plays again. It’s of listening pleasure. I can’t say there’s a lot of character development going on. It’s really all about Makoto and her situation, and it is her situation that takes central role in this movie. Art-wise, I’d say it isn’t that bad. I don’t fancy character designs like that but I must say I like the overall graphical presentation of the anime.

I adore the friendship between Makoto, Chiaki, and Kōsuke. They’re very close and seemed to understand each other very well. From various events that happened through the movie, it is safe to say that they will do anything to make sure they friendship stays and they’ll always have each other as friends. Take for instance Makoto and Kōsuke. When Makoto realized that Kōsuke will hit the train on her bike, she ran for him. That scene was a very touching. I feel her pain when Makoto cried out of guilt the moment Kōsuke hit the train along with their junior.

Here, I’d like to take a moment and write some thoughts regarding this unusual phenomenon. For many times, we have been fed with the idea of time traveling. Tons of movies and TV series out there showed the many possibilities of this happening. I myself am quite intrigued with it. I often wonder what would I do if I obtain this ability or found the way to do so. As I’ve mentioned earlier, I’d travel back to happy periods of my life or avoid any mishaps of the past. I’d ensure that I painted a perfect life for myself. But what would I gain from that? Would I finally understand myself better? Would I make the achievements I long for? Would I be me at all? I really often wonder….

A 2006 movie may seem a little old to be posted this year, but because it’s such a good movie that it feels so wrong not to recommend it to my readers. Just in case you have never thought of picking this up to watch, it’s definitely worth considering and the time to watch! Totally!!

2 thoughts on “Makoto Time Travels

  1. I occasionally review anime as old as the 1980’s so what’s the big deal reviewing an anime/animated movie from the past? This is pet peeve I have with people who whine about “oh there aren’t any good anime to watch right now. I’m bored because there isn’t anything to watch”. Look buddy, there’s A TRUCKLOAD OF GOOD SHOWS FROM THE 90’S OR EARLIER! Don’t give me that crap. Seriously, people like that piss me off. Unless you grew up in Asia and you’ve been watching anime all your life…shut up whiners.

    Okay, rant #67 about whiners over. (I’ve got a million of them) let’s get back to this epic movie. I already reviewed it and greatly enjoyed it. What I really liked about it is how well it balanced genres. It had a little bit of everything and its sad moments were really powerful. You can’t deny that dood. It’s definitely a movie I’d watch a 2nd or possibly 3rd time.

    • Yeaps, there are loads of good shows from the past and as bloggers we should really get the word out. Bear in mind, not everyone knows about those good series.

      Lol! I’ve my own list of pet peeves as well. Maybe I should make a post about it….

      Yeaps, couldn’t agree more. This movie is one of the best there is out there. If anyone ask, this is one of the movies I’ll instantly recommend them to.

Leave a Reply

