Brrr…Shinrei Tantei Yakumo

Yakumo Saitou, a reserved College student, was born with a red left eye. This eye, which he usually hides behind a contact lense, gives him the ability to see ghosts and spirits and has brought him many hardships throughout his life. Even thought this special vision could easily scare anyone, it doesn’t scare Yakumo. He strongly believes ghosts and spirits are feelings left behind, bound to earth because of a certain ’cause’. It is his opinion that by talking with them, he can eliminate that ’cause’ and release them, allowing them to rest in peace. One day, a fellow College student named Haruka Ozawa knocks on his door, asking for help to save her friend, who she believes to be possessed. Reluctantly, he accepts, and thus begins a story full of unsolved supernatural events, bound to be deciphered by the two, and Yakumo’s journey to release his heart from his painful past.

– Wikipedia

Warnings – there may be spoilers ahead. I don’t think I have the talent to ramble about an anime without providing references to it.

A quick look at the anime blogosphere suggested that many dislike or are at borderline regarding this anime. For someone, such as me, who enjoys supernatural shows, such as this, would watch it despite the lukewarm comments from fellow anime comrades.

Seriously you guys…am I the only one enjoying this show??

During the period I was watching this show, my friend A, revealed to me her many encounters with ghosts. She shares Yakumo’s ability to see ghosts. I choose to believe in her stories because I simply couldn’t find any reason for her to lie to me about these encounters. So watching this show is believable, in that sense. Besides, Yakumo is not portrayed as invincible, sure-win guy. I like that. No one is unbeatable, really.

Yakumo’s a smart man filled with mysteries. His past has played quite a huge role in shaping the current events. A huge chunk of the show focused on how Yakumo fought the evil-doings of his phantom father and how he dealt with emotional scars left by his mother. Throughout the series, the audience will be able to see how Yakumo grew to become a happier person than when it started.

This series is packed with suspenses, surprises and sadness. Suspense cuz being detective-themed, I kept on guessing who’s the culprit behind each of the supernatural cases they’re investigating. It can be likened to The X-Files in some ways. Surprise cuz there are several events which unfolded in a way I didn’t expect it to be. Sadness cuz much of Yakumo’s life has been miserable and that was showed in the many turns of events.

But Shinrei Tantei Yakumo isn’t all that dark and miserable. It has its funny moments too. Characters like Ishii sort of provided the comic relief, lightening up the natural serious tone of the series.

Another reason why I like this series is that it provided a proper ending. Tons of shows that have around 12-13 episodes rarely give a good conclusion to their stories. But Shinrei Tantei Yakumo finished off well. He found peace – something I think he doesn’t have before, and other side characters also found the closure they needed.

I’m not one who knows how to rate anything properly. So I always refrain myself from using any rating scales invented. But a simple question such as if Shinrei Tantei Yakumo is worth watching? Hey, I’ve got an answer for that. I know for sure that it’s worth watching!

Leave a Reply

