Kimi Ni Todoke Episode 0: Unrequited Love

So finally it’s here. Kimi Ni Todoke 2 or some calls it KimiTodo. Hmm..not sure if they call it KimiTodo2. My version of summary for the show is – it talks about a girl, Sawako, who’s easily misunderstood due to her resemblance to a horrofic pop icon and her growth in friendship and love.

Warnings – possibilities of spoilers ahead.

I rechecked the episode title, and yes it is episode 0. I thought I read it wrongly at first. Trust me, it can happen sometimes. Being titled as such, I’m expecting a recap of some sort. I was right. Sort of.

When I think of recap, this was what came to mind. A narrator who isn’t part of the cast briefly summarizes Kimi ni Todoke Season 1 in 20 minutes. But no. It’s Kurumi, Sawako’s love rival, telling her story that sort of summarizes what happened last season in her own perspective. That’s cool too.

Being some sort of an episode retelling past stories, I already saw most of the scenes. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed it. The reason is – the show is just so heartwarming. Although the entire episode is being told in Kurumi’s perspective, much of Kazehaya and Sawako’s characters were highlighted. I believe their characters are fundamental elements which drive the shows. If the two main protagonists behave in any other way, I don’t think this show can be as good.

I haven’t seen Kimi ni Todoke in almost a year. Having this episode to refresh some of my memories about what happened is good. It didn’t recap the whole season but that’s okay. At least, it didn’t jump straight into the next chapter of Kimi ni Todoke. This episode helps in bringing back the familiarity I once had with the anime. Come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind if the second season dives straight into the next chapter. Haha.

I was a tad disappointed with the OP and ED songs. The first season’s were marvellous. Some songs may take a while to get used to so I’ll see how I like it over the next few weeks. The art is still as fantastic as ever though.

In a nutshell, I’m looking forward to another great season with Kimi ni Todoke.

2 thoughts on “Kimi Ni Todoke Episode 0: Unrequited Love

  1. I really loved Kurumi, so it was a nice little recap to start the second season. I didn’t even mind all the repeat sequences even though I had just marathoned most of the episodes right before I watched this.

    Looking forward to a great season myself as well! ^ ^

Leave a Reply

