Hanasaku Iroha Episode 3: Balut

I was wondering why this episode is called balut. Thank goodness my confusion was cleared towards the end of the episode. Although I think it’s quite creative of Minko to come up with such a remarkable term to replace “die”, I doubt the word delivers the intended wrath. Haha.

Warnings – spoilers ahead.

I’m surprised how Ohana can remain so calm when she’s abducted by a questionable man, tied and gagged. I thought it would be much normal if she shows a little anxiety or at least attempting to escape. I guess Ohana isn’t the average girl. She even managed to dodge Jirōmaru all tied up like that. The imaginary scenes following that was unexpected. When the first picture of Nako, Minko and Ohana taking bath together popped up on screen, I couldn’t stop laughing. It’s weird – popping out of nowhere, a scene in which three girls who are not getting along very well bathed together. It didn’t occur to me then the whole thing was just part of Jirōmaru’s erotic novel. Too bad the mood of the moment was abruptly ended by Jirōmaru. The sound effect was dead on too!

The reason why I tweeted I have mixed feelings about this episode is cuz there’re just too much of Jirōmaru and his pitiful thoughts. It kinda affected the whole mood of the show. Despite that, each of his pitiful actions were always responded with Ohana’s witty remarks. That sort of balance things out. Drama, when mixed well with comedy, can be something really pleasant.

Grandma is being really cool in this episode. She carries herself gracefully indeed. She gives smart advices too. No one knows what the future holds. Very true. We will never know what will happen the next second, so the least we could do now is watch more anime! Just kidding. But seriously, it’s a good advice. Since we don’t know what the future has in store for us, what we can do now is to try our best in everything that we’re doing.

Watching how all the workers of the inn helped resolved a customer’s – Jirōmaru – personal problem, I actually thought for a moment that Hanasaku Iroha may actually revolve around solving different customers’ personal problems. Who knows, the series may introduced a variety of “guest stars” and grandma & co. will work things out for them.

There’s quite a number of fan-service shots here as well. It’s not that I hate fan-service, I can tolerate occasional fan-service scenes. It’s just that I don’t want it to be what Hanasaku Iroha is all about. That sort of ruin it for me. I have high expectations of this series as a good drama series with touches of slice of life events.

From how I see it, Hanasaku Iroha is definitely heading towards the direction in which Ohana will be accepted at Kissuisō Inn. Nako has already started to break down her invisible wall she seems to be building between Ohana and herself. It’s only matter of time before Minko starts accepting Ohana wholeheartedly. C’mon, the girl scribbled and scribbled with the help of a dictionary (I think) and a little light source emitting her cellphone! That meant something no?

Just in case you’re wondering when did Minko scribble – this screen grab was taken from episode 2.

Once again, Hanasaku Iroha delivered its beautiful artwork. My favorite scene for this week is this.

Okay, it’s just seawater and stone. But if you watch this part animated, it’s like seeing the real thing. The calming sound of the small waves…nicely done.

11 thoughts on “Hanasaku Iroha Episode 3: Balut

  1. I have to agree with you. Ohana was just being too nice to that perverted author. Though I somewhat enjoy the yuri scenes, i still think that HanaIro is suppose to be a dramatic and serious show.

  2. I think this pretty much sums up my thoughts on the episode. Gorgeous animation as always. Swimming/ Wet/ yuri Nako is… ♥ *blush*

    More importantly, this episode really shows what a fascinating character Ohana is. She’s just such a tough, composed, confident woman to be able to carry herself through all these things life throws at her, big or small.

  3. Pingback: I went on a date with a Power Ranger ? well, sort of | Peculiaris

  4. I wasn’t expecting Ohana’s calm reaction to being tied up either, I thought for sure she’d try to escape. The focus on the author, rather than Ohana probably means that the anime will go through all of the characters shown in the op at some time. I was wondering how they were going to fill 20+ episodes if they only show Ohana’s problems.

    The fanservice was a bit shocking, and I also hope that it doesn’t turn out to be the main selling point of Hanasaku Iroha.

    • Hmm…you could be right. We may learn the history of Minko, Nako and even grandma’s broken relationship with Ohana’s mother some time soon. What I’m interested to know is why is Minko living at the inn.

      I sure hope fan-service won’t be the selling point of the show. It has a lot of other things to offer such as exciting casts and beautiful artwork.

  5. Woah, I like the last pics, the details almost looks like a real things! The artwork the details are just pass my expectation. The arrival of Ohana will change that place, well thats what I’m expecting for the future episode.

    • Totally agree with you! Hanasaku Iroha has one of the best artwork among all the anime I’ve seen so far. The details. The colors. Ahhh..just love it.

      We’ll never know how will the story progress so all we can do is only to continue following Ohana’s journey to find out ourselves =)

  6. Even though the story was lacking abit, it was still alright. Just hoping next week things ramp up. I’m interested in why Grandma changed her demeanor slightly toward Ohana (not directly…)

    • Yeah, I also noticed that grandma was happily smiling, acknowledging that she knew Ohana would make things right so I’m curious why there’s a sudden change of behavior.

      Anyways, there are a lot to discover still. I hope my questions are answered at the end of the series.

Leave a Reply

