Expectations in Live Action Films

If you follow me on my Twitter, then you’d probably remember that I tweeted if I should watch the live action movie of Kimi ni Todoke. That was a few weeks back. Just recently, however, I finally managed to squeeze in the almost two hours movie into my schedule.

I can’t say that I enjoy the movie as much as I did with anime/manga. Actually, it felt odd. It’s not the first time I see a Japanese movie but it’s a first time for me to see an adaptation of a title of which its anime version I already saw. I kept telling myself that I shouldn’t be comparing the movie and the anime at all. There will be differences due to many factors such as time constraint among others. Unfortunately for me, I kept referencing it with the anime. That made the experience a little less enjoyable.

For your information, I’ve read the later chapters of the manga as well. So I’m very confident that the anime follow very closely what the manga has. The movie, however, doesn’t really do that. While the first hour or so shared many similarities with Kimi ni Todoke Season 1, the later part of the movie was completely different. I’m fine with it. I sort of expected that. What I didn’t expect was the change in the characters’ general behavior and attitude.

Of course, we have the major characters lined up. Same name. Similar outward appearance. Same role. But they just feel different. Maybe it’s my psychological hindrance. Who knows? To be fair, I can generally tolerate with most of the portrayals. I can even accept that the Sawako here is a little more aggressive. Yano Ayane’s portrayal is the one I’ve a nagging feeling about.

To me, Ayane is a girl who’s strong and has this authoritative demeanor. She’s like the bad girl (in a good way). She’s the cool girl someone wants to be like. But in the movie, she’s a lot softer. Really a lot softer. She’s still intelligent and perceptive but the way she is in the movie – there’s no way I would believe about the rumor of her playing the field at all. I recall that I thought the rumors wouldn’t be that far off mark when I was watching the anime. That thought was based on my understanding of her character in the manga/anime during the first episodes of Kimi ni Todoke. In that sense, Ayane in the movie is a total stranger to me.

All these mix feelings led me to think – what are the appropriate expectations to have if I’m to watch another live action film? I expected the movie to be different at least a little. It was. I expected that I would recognize the characters. I did. I expected that I know the characters. I didn’t. Huh. So really, how should I set the appropriate expectation?

I guess my experience here is kinda similar to those who read a manga only to find anime has a ton of fillers. I saw the anime of Kimi ni Todoke, only to find the live action lacks a lot.

9 thoughts on “Expectations in Live Action Films

  1. Pingback: Expectations in Live Action Films « World of Yamaguchi Hoshiko | Action Films / Action Films News

  2. I’m actually 3/4 of the way through the movie, I couldn’t watch it all in one sitting. So far I don’t think anything’s wrong with it, but I do miss all the chibi animations from the anime. It’s also weird seeing the actor that played the whiny hacker in Bloody Monday act out Kazehaya’s part. Those two characters are nothing alike.

    • Really? I feel the general atmosphere of the live action is very different from the anime. It just doesn’t feel like Kimi ni Todoke to me.

  3. I’m always a bit hesitant to pick up live-action adaptations of anime/manga I really like for the exact reason you said: expectations that may not be met with the directing. Looks like I’m definitely going to pass on this. I’ve also heard Kazehaya is even more boring in the live-action… Didn’t think that’d be possible.

    • Yeaps, he is boring there. Very boring. A lot of others have good things to say about Kimi ni Todoke live action film but I just can’t find anything good with it. Their acting sucks too.

      If anyone wants a piece of Kimi ni Todoke, watch the anime or read the manga. That’s it.

Leave a Reply

