5 Anime I’ll Re-watch Over And Over Again

I’m sure any anime fans will have at least one anime that they will watch over and over again and never get tired of it. I have a few, and I’m here to share with you my list. Bear in mind that I’m pretty new in the anime scene so there are still a lot of major titles that I’ve yet to see. Even so, within the titles I’ve seen to date there are a few favorites that I can watch whole day and whole night and then another whole day and whole night and another and another….I think you get my point now.

So let’s get down to business.

Lucky Star

I’ve seen this anime about a hundred times. Okay, maybe not. But definitely loads of times. Whenever I have nothing to watch or I just don’t feel like picking up a new episode of current airing series, I’ll always go back to Lucky Star. It never fails to put a smile on my face, and I know I’m not the only one. Being slice-of-life, I can just randomly pick any episodes that I like. I might’ve gone through the entire season twice or thrice but definitely watched my favorite episodes countless times.

Nodame Cantabile (yes, all 3 seasons of it!)

I absolutely adore the interaction between Chiaki and Nodame. It’s always funny to see the reactions of a perfectionist and a weirdo when they mingle together. Nodame Cantabile has a good blend of humor and drama that keeps me wanting more. The fact that I’m also a fan of classical music made this anime an instant favorite. Since I stumbled upon this anime two years ago, I’ve watched it at least two times.

Skip Beat!

Now, now, why do I like Skip Beat! so much? I seriously don’t have an answer. It could be cuz I find Kyōko’s personality very interesting. When she’s bad, she’s real bad but when she’s good, she’s an angel. Her twisted personality or rather, her inner conflicts brought a lot of comic relief to the show. Not only that, it helps in understanding her better.

Or it could be the glittering world of show biz. Watching Skip Beat! is like watching the behind scenes of a movie or something. Very cool. So yeah, I can watch this many times and I kinda hope there’s another season of Skip Beat! but so far no luck. At least, I have the manga chapters to keep me going.

Spice and Wolf

For me, the most attractive point of this series is the setting. Oh, that jolly good life is to die for. I thought it’d be fun to be riding horses or sitting on the wagons, taking in the beautiful scenery as I travel from one city to another. That’s the most attractive point, but not the only point why I like Spice and Wolf. I find the conversations and activities involving economics bit really fascinating. When I was watching this series, I was probably a few months into my business degree so it kind of helped me picture the whole trading stuff better. I’m probably biased, but nothing’s better than having the wise Holo to teach me a thing or two about trade.

Kimi ni Todoke

I haven’t actually seen this more than once, but I would when the opportunity arises. It’s a drama series so I can’t just randomly pick an episode. Plus, the second season only completed earlier this year so the story is still fresh in my mind. But I’m 100% sure that it’s one of the anime I will pick up again and again. With its outstanding cast and sweet romance, how can I not want to watch this again?

So that’s my five. What’s yours? =)

34 thoughts on “5 Anime I’ll Re-watch Over And Over Again

  1. Ok, so I guess that means I really should finish Lucky Star and finally watch Spice and Wolf.

    On the other hand I think I finished Skip Beat! in one day and a half and spent one week watching everything I could get my hands on of Nodame Cantabile, drama inclued.
    I haven’t rewatched them yet but I think they’re worth the rewatch too.

    • Oh, I love to watch everything of Nodame Cantabile. I also have the drama and movies. A huge fan here. Haha.

      It depends on whether you like slice-of-life anime in order to enjoy Lucky Star and as for Spice and Wolf, I recommend it.

  2. Oh, I agree about Kimi ni Todoke and Spice and Wolf. There’s just something about them that makes them so welcoming. And I haven’t finished Nodame Cantabile yet, but I really should.

    I would also include Azumanga Daioh and Natsume Yuujinchou on my list, personally.

    • I love everything about Nodame Cantabile actually so I always recommend it. I hope you’ll complete the series soon =)

      I haven’t watch Azumanga Daioh and Natsume Yuujinchou yet though. Should get to it some time.

  3. I like to re-watch a fun show like Lucky star. Really made a big smile on my face and never get bored with it. If its a bit drama, I guess its kinda hard for me to get the feeling of the first time watch because I already know whats gonna happen next. >.<
    I guess the anime that I probably gonna re-watch a fun anime and also the anime that I really forgotten.

    • You have your point there. It’s a bit not fun if we already know what’s coming but it’s something else about Nodame Cantabile, Skip Beat!, Spice and Wolf and Kimi ni Todoke that I like. There’s something really special about them. It’s like they hit all the right spots =)

    • Yeah, you’re right on Kimi ni Todoke and also Spice and Wolf. But I haven’t watch Nodame Cantabile and Skip Beat!. Maybe I will give it a run when I have some spare time for it. XD

        • Well, obviously Toradora is #1, no cosnett.Hyakko was heavily anticipated, but made a huge flop. It’s all about Hyakko antagonizing everyone else, so it has nothing in common with Sketchbook, Azumanga, Hidamari, or Lucky Star. Basically a shining example of how not to make a 4coma adaptation. I guess if you liked PPD, you might want to check it out. I dropped Hyakko after 2 episodes.Maria 01 we watched after the picnic. The first ep was pretty much representative of the whole thing. For me, Maria being a total jerk ruined the picture. Again, super pretty art, and it shows that SHAFT can use the budget productively (hopefuly they won’t run out of money midway like GAINAX with Eva).Nodame Paris ben was just bad, especially in the first 5 episodes. It lacks the magic of the original Nodame, the characters suck, they corrupted Kuroki, the adaptation was poor and made obvious how much was cut out, and even animation was worse (with heavier 3D). I quit when I saw the disgusting brawl at the bridge. Other people liked it though.Kannagi was ok, I guess, if formulaic. It’s not as badly written as The Certain Exposition Index at least. Perfect animation from creators of Lucky Star.Birdy was heavily panned for the guy being a reject and basically screwing everything all the time because of self-pitying and generally being useless and limp. I did not like the unfilled art too (although the motion was ok).No idea about Sins and Rideback.My call would be #1 Toradora, #2 Kannagi, #3 Maria Holic.

  4. I first thought about Usagi Drop and Ano Hana since they’re both recent series. Then there’s also Toradora. 5 Centimeters per Second and Toki o Kakeru Shōjo belong to this list as well.

    I’ve seen the live action of Nodame Cantabile series and I actually enjoyed it. ^^; I’ll probably watch the anime too.

    • Ahh..5 Centimeters per Second – I’m very fond of that movie. Toradora too. I haven’t watch Toki o Kakeru Shōjo though.

      I think Nodame Cantabile anime covers more than the live action. But both are equally enjoyable for me. =)

  5. I love Usagi Drop and Skip Beat! and can rewatch them easily. I’m also a fan of Lucky Star and Spice & Wolf and could do at least one repeat viewing of the series.

    When I ranked My Ten Favorite Anime Series, I used rewatchability as a key criterion. My top five are (in order):

    Puella Magi Madoka Magica
    Top wo Nerae! Gunbuster
    Koko wa Greenwood
    Kare Kano
    Aria

  6. So many excellent choices to pick I haven’t really let the thought cross my mind. At the moment, it is more like trying to complete many hidden gems I left covered ^^

      • Favorites lists should change over time… there are always new and/or undiscovered anime to experience. I think it’s fun to periodically review and re-rank one’s favorites. It’s exciting when a new anime does break into one’s top 10 list – and sometimes surprising when one doesn’t. Everytime I start a good series I wonder if it will become a top 10 show of mine. This year I really enjoyed Ano Hana and Usagi Drop, but neither one cracked my top 10. I’ll keep looking, though!

        • That’s right. For my case, I think there are still a lot of undiscovered anime to watch. And there’s always a possibility that my taste will change over time (although unlikely but still the possibility is there), so definitely will review the list in the future. Though these five titles have been my favorite for as long as I can remember.

  7. My top 5 would be Seitokai no Ichizon, Toradora, Martian Successor Nadesico, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, and Card Captor Sakura. Lucky Star would be tied for 6th with Love Hina.

  8. Definitely going to re-watch Nodame Cantabile and Kimi ni Todoke..

    My top 5 would be, Clannad (Both Season), Steins;Gate, Code Geass (Both Season), Toradora and Usagi Drop.

    As for movies, 5 Centimeters Per Second, The Girl Who Leap Through Time, KARAS, Colourful and finally Ghost in the Shell (All movies)

    • You have a good list there. I enjoyed all of the series you’ve mentioned except Code Geass – I haven’t watch that one yet. >.<

      As for the movies list, I only saw the first two on your list. Those are great movies.

  9. Pingback: On Re-watching Anime | World of Yamaguchi Hoshiko

  10. I’ll also re-watch Nadame Cantabile but only the first season as thats the only that has been dubbed. I just cant get used to the Japanese voice when i switched from dubbed to sub!

Leave a Reply

