God’s Memo Pad: A Disappointment

I admit I picked this anime only cuz it’s a detective series and was reluctant to drop it also cuz it’s a detective series. I’m a huge fan of detective series and was looking forward to a mystery filled season with Kami-sama no Memo-chou. Perhaps deep down I chose to watch this series to fill in the gap left by Gosick. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations.

Before I begin my rant of some sort, I shall briefly tell you what the anime is all about. It’s an anime that tells a story about not an ordinary detective, but a NEET detective, speaker for the dead. Yeah. That.

Kami-sama no Memo-chou had a strong start. The first episode – 40 minutes long – was, by all means, a great episode. It was promising and I was looking forward to the great things that may come out of it. Nevertheless, I was only to be disappointed over and over again in the later episodes.

There are a few reasons why I didn’t like the series as much as I thought I would.

  1. They talk a lot. There were so much conversations going on and most of the time, I found myself lost amidst of all the information that was shoved right at my face. There were number of times I had to rewind just to make sure I understood the right thing. I can’t remember Gosick, Detective Conan or Death Note being so tiring in this aspect. Frankly, I’m kind of annoyed by Alice’s manner of speech too. I did get used to all of these at the end though. Practice makes perfect!
  2. The cases are unimpressive. I thought the first case was pretty good; however the same cannot be said for other cases. More often than not, the cases were built up adequately but it’s the way the cases were solved that bugged me. There are times I thought “hey, maybe there are still a few clues missing” but before I know it, the case has abruptly ended. And there are times the opposite happened. I don’t know, maybe I don’t operate on the same wavelength or something. It’s kind of frustrating.
  3. Narumi. I don’t usually find fault with a single character but Narumi is a special case. I’m quite “impressed” (double quote to denote sarcasm) how Narumi suddenly turned from someone with weak presence into a sworn brother of two gang leaders. The series introduced Narumi as someone who doesn’t really care about anything that’s going around him and without much warning, he became someone who cares about everything that’s going around him. I don’t know, but I find this development kind of weak and even a little strange. From a person who is reserved to a busybody? That’s not very convincing.

At the end, I can’t think of anything commendable about the series. I’ve been trying really hard to find things I like about Kami-sama no Memo-chou. Seriously! I know there were many people watching this series for Alice but I didn’t. She’s cute alright, but not cute enough. Am I being a devil here? Haha. I don’t know what I’m watching this for. It’s a miracle that I was able to complete the series at all!

22 thoughts on “God’s Memo Pad: A Disappointment

  1. What I hated even more than everything else was the predictability.
    From the very first episode of each case, everything was so obvious it was ridiculous.
    So you’re right about the weakness of the mysteries, it only lacked a little something to be wonderful and in the end it’s only very wasted potential because I really loved the characters and the general atmosphere but the plot was so weak it wasted everything

    I loved the first episode very much, hell, it made the anime land in my top3.
    It’s down to rock bottom now.

    • I know right?! The first episode was so good so I’m very disappointed how it turned out in the end. The cases were not twisted or mysterious enough to be interesting, and that only means this isn’t a good detective series.

  2. You’d think that with a title like ‘God’s Memo Pad’ it’d be something more intense and compelling. I honestly had hopes that this was gonna be Gosick 2.0 or something.

    • Me too. I remember being so happy reading Kamisama no Memochou’s summary on the Summer list because it meant I have a detective series to watch now that Gosick has ended. But this is what I got. Sigh.

  3. I watched the first two episodes, and while I liked Alice, I didn’t like the characters’ approach to solving mysteries. It was like Alice was just commanding some minions that did everything she said and then she would magically solve the case. It definitely wasn’t on the same level as Gosick.

  4. I was considering watching this one, but had too many other shows I was trying out to begin with. It seems the general consensus is that this one didn’t turn out well, though, which is too bad. The concept of a shut-in detective is an interesting one.

    • Yeah, too bad this didn’t turn out well. When it comes to detective shows, the way cases are presented and how they will subsequently be resolved is crucial. I’d say Kamisama no Memochou failed in this aspect.

  5. Huh… Seems like as the season ends, I’m coming upon more and more negative reviews of Kamisama no Memochou. 😦

    I thought a NEET detective would be really neat, but I guess the characters and the cases just didn’t deliver.

  6. It wouldn’t call the show bad, it it wasn’t good either. Mediocre, really. But for some reason I would like to have more. Maybe my inner J.C. Staff fan (well, they did create Toradora after all) is decieving me.

      • I don’t think I’ve seen a good detective anime. I have read Detective Conan, but that is pretty much it when it comes to mystery and stuff. Normally it’s not really my genre because, well, most stuff like that tends to be a bit stiff and boring. Sherlock from 2010 was great though, but that isn’t anime…

        Have any recommendation?

        • I haven’t seen a lot of detective anime so up til now, Detective Conan still remains a favorite. It has some good cases and some not so good cases, but overall it’s pretty solid. So if it must be a detective anime, I can only think of it which you have already seen. But if you’re up for some mystery series, Death Note is one of the best I’ve seen so far. The suspense is there till the very end.

          • Conan is great when it focuses on its overall plot, the men in black stuff. One of those arcs was full of suspense and twists I didn’t expect. Aaah, such a shame they recently stopped publishing it here in Sweden at vol 63.

            Death Note is great, although the second part is a bit lacking. But still a great series. Maybe I should give Code Geass or Kaiji and Akagi a try, since they also include mind games and the likes.

            • Oh I agree, Death Note’s second part isn’t as interesting as the first part but overall, an awesome series.

              I haven’t watch those yet, maybe I should give them a go too. Currently, I’m enjoying Mawaru Penguindrum very much but will wait for it to complete to decide if it’s going to be one of top anime when it comes to mystery, psychological stuff.

  7. At least you were able to finish it. I got a few episodes in and just wasn’t impressed. I didn’t really drop it but I just lost interest in finishing. Perhaps I’ll find out just how bad it ends up eventually but there’s much more interesting shows to be seen right now I think. I also believe I was simply trying to fill the gap left by Gosick at first. Didn’t work.

Leave a Reply

