Hoshiko’s Best Anime 2011

Alrighty. It’s the end of 2011. Do you know what this means? It’s time for my personal list of best anime in 2011. This list contains anime that has completed its run within Winter 2011, Spring 2011, Summer 2011 and Fall 2011. Of course, it has to be an anime that I’ve seen. And that also means any other anime that I saw this year but did not debut and complete or complete (debuted in Fall 2010) within those periods are not taken into consideration. As always, I’ll list out only five on my very short list. The reasons for the very short list are 1) I don’t have a long list of anime to pick from and 2) I only make sure the ones I really, really like make the list.

*Drum Rolls* Hoshiko’s best anime of 2011 is….

1) Usagi Drop

It’s slice-of-life anime. Not everyone’s favorite genre, but definitely my favorite. Despite being slice-of-life, Usagi Drop did well by infusing family matters, the sense of belonging into the story. This resulted in the anime being somewhat unique in its own genre. The story is very simple, but not at all boring.  It’s well-paced and took the time to flesh out the main characters, Daikichi and Rin. The overall relaxed atmosphere in the series is something that I really appreciate.

2) Mawaru Penguindrum

This is one of the most mind-boggling anime I ever saw. Every episode, Mawaru Penguindrum will add new pieces of puzzles for me to figure out just what the heck is going on with the story. And I tell you, it confused me all the way; however, this is also the fun part. Besides the fascinating story, I enjoyed the bright, rich colors the series has. Perhaps it’s a good thing they chose such happy colors even though they have such dark story – it balanced everything. The anime series also didn’t shy away from using different methods to present their story such as constant flashbacks and for the lack of better term, stage performances. Needless to say, it kept me entertained throughout.

3) Kimi ni Todoke 2

This has to be one of the best shojo series out there, and with one of the most outstanding casts. For this season, the female lead – Kuronuma Sawako – experienced pain, disappointments, joy and love as she began to explore the world of romance. It has been an interesting experience to see Sawako slowly coming out of shell and began to discover different aspects of life as a normal high school girl. I’m thrilled to know she has found her happy ending. In addition to the first season’s cast is Miura Kento. His presence in Kimi ni Todoke is a major boost. He’s a fun, lovely character, and certainly helped in lightening up the atmosphere of the series. I still hope he ends up with Ayane.

 4) Steins;Gate

What I like best about this series is its ability to present a complex situation in a simple manner. It helped me to easily understand the situation and at the same time, Steins;Gate was able project a sophisticated appeal. I believe this is a feat rarely seen in other anime I saw. Besides, I’ve always been intrigued with time traveling concept and seeing Kurisu and Okabe worked their very best to figure out a way to break out of a loop that keeps ending with Mayuri’s death was amazing.

5) Tamayura Hitotose

I have a few anime in mind to take this spot but it eventually goes to Tamayura Hitotose. Many might disagree with me. I realize I’ve been looking forward to this series each week more than Working’!!, which is why I gave it this spot. Following Fu and her friends around the scenic town of Takehara has been a wonderful journey. Sure, its pacing is rather slow but that what I pleased about the most. Ah, the calming nature of the series – it relaxes my mind.

So what do you think of this list?

25 thoughts on “Hoshiko’s Best Anime 2011

  1. I like all the animes on the list as well. The only one that I didn’t watch yet is Mawaru Penguindrum. I’d make Steins;Gate a bit higher if I were you :p

    I should publish my best anime of 2011 too. My list will have 10 animes on it. But it is so hard to hard to choose which anime will be number this and that, so i’m still postponing mine..

    • I did enjoy the other three more than I did with Steins;Gate >.< If you're in for a wild ride, do give Mawaru Penguindrum a go.

      The year is almost up! Do publish it soon! Beside, I would like to read your list too. =)

      • Really. Ok, because out of all I enjoyed Steins;Gate the most >_<
        I'm thinking of watching it soon. I'll do a marathon for sure.

        I've published my top 10 anime list of 2011. I'm going to do another one soon. Best of post will be different and more fun 🙂

  2. Kimi Ni Todoke leave a strong trail in my life… It’s inspired me and giving me hope… (Sound like I’m a romantic person eh? :P)

    I haven’t think about my best anime for 2011, but at least we’re agree on one title. 😀

    • Yes, you do sound like a romantic person. I have that impression when I read some of your posts =)

      Personally, I really, really like Kimi ni Todoke for its story, characters and I had fun watching all of them grow. It’s such a sweet series.

  3. Now, Mawaru Penguindrum was a bit of a delusion. What the hell with all the random stuff and no explanation? All in the imagination of the viewer?
    Not my cup of tea honestly…:P

    • I believe most things, if not all, are explained in the last few episodes. I had fun trying to figure out the puzzles although I got them wrong most of the time.

  4. Umm thats interesting… 🙂
    I liked all the shows that you’ve listed and I agree with most from your list.
    Usagi Drop, Tamayura Hitotose were so nice and heartwarming slice of life animes.
    I don’t mind the slow pace, maybe I liked Tamayura a little bit more because of the prettier environment and the moe characters.

    Mawaru Penguindrum was a nice and colorful trip, too bad it had a somehow bad end.
    I also liked Steins;Gate, but was dissapointed that the 2nd half mainly was about saving Mayuri.
    They could have made more out of this timetravel possibilities in my opinion.

    Kimi ni Todoke S2 didn’t leave the same big impression on me as the first Season, but it was a nice conclusion. I wouldn’t have mind more lovy devey scenes of Sawako and Kazehaya ^-^.

    You haven’t listed Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica which was also a visually appealing show with a deep story in this year, but I the setting was too dark for me to call it a favorite show of mine in 2011.

    • Yes, yes. Tamayura has got one of the most gorgeous town right? Love it.

      I wouldn’t consider that as a bad ending for Penguindrum but I would prefer something a little happier. Haha. It was so sad.

      If the whole saving Mayuri thing didn’t happen I might actually rank Steins;Gates higher. Still, it was fun because I thought the whole time traveling thing was well thought-out.

      Ahhh..Madoka. It wasn’t on the list because I didn’t watch it. Not a fan of magical series. >.< I read a lot of good reviews about it but still I couldn't bring myself to watch it.

    • I agree with most of your comment…
      Hoshiko’s top five list is a good one!I didn’t like the last episode of Mawaru Penguindrum – otherwise it would have made my own top fiveSteins;Gate was quite good, but there was a lot of wasted potential as the story ended up being too simple – lacking complexity around the secretive SERN organizationMadoka rocks

    • (ugh. that wasn’t good… my previous comment didn’t use my HTML… let me try it again without…)

      I agree with most of your comment…
      …Hoshiko’s top five list is a good one!
      …I didn’t like the last episode of Mawaru Penguindrum – otherwise it would have made my own top five
      …Steins;Gate was quite good, but there was a lot of wasted potential as the story ended up being too simple – lacking complexity around the secretive SERN organization
      …Madoka rocks

        • People either really like Madoka… or they shrug their shoulders and say it’s nothing special but overhyped. In many respects it’s similar to Mawaru Penguindrum – unconventional and sometimes abstract. Mawaru Penguindrum is over-the-top overflowing with abstraction and symbolism; Madoka is only somewhat abstract. I’m definitely a Madoka Magica fangirl, but I can understand why many people are underwhelmed by the series.

        • Today I did my annual anime top 5 lists on my own blog… and just now noticed that Madoka swept top honors on my lists. I thought I had things more mixed than that – but I guess that mix was only for items 2 – 5 on my lists.

  5. Nice list. I am still trying to recover over my Penguindrum rage from the last episode, but do agree with you about it being a mind–boggling series. Recently wouldn’t mind watching it again once the DVD/BD are completely out. So many subjects and things to talk about from watching it. Steins;Gate and Tamayura are definitely are on my list as well. Oh, and not forget Usagi Drop – still regret reading the manga though afterwards.

    • I don’t know about watching Penguindrum again, but perhaps I might if I’m in the mood for it. I guess I usually only revisit light anime. >.<

      I still have not read the manga, and I don't think I'll be picking it up either. I really want to keep the good impression I had on Usagi Drop. (technically, it's like lying to myself though. lol)

  6. I’m surprised you only put Steins;Gate as 4th, but the three above it are pretty good too. I also don’t see Madoka anywhere, what happened?

  7. Usagi Drop is definitely one of my favorite as well. As is Steins;Gate. I haven’t been able to finish Tamayura yet so I can’t really say much for it, my media player has been screwy for weeks :/

  8. Pingback: Best Anime Series of 2011 « Blue Sweater Story

Leave a Reply

