Let The Animation Talks

Allow me to introduce you a super short film called Life No Color, directed by Tazawa Ushio which apparently has won the Visual Award in the 14th DoGA CG Animation Contest. Probably you have heard of it, probably you have not. I just want to say how incredible this video is and how it is able to convey some kind of a message without any dialogues.

Yes, no dialogues and I should probably say when I say super short, I really mean it – it’s only 4 minutes long. Some said it’s like a music video but the music only has soft lyrics. I can barely make them out. Instead, what it has is colors and facial expressions. I love how these two simple elements when combined can tell a story.

I assume this clip is about discrimination in societies and how some characters desire and support for a society free of discrimination.  Those in blue clothes symbolizes people from high class society, you know like the blue blood, or at least they’re of powerful and rich background. And then, the ones dressed in red are from the lower class society, which is why they get all the teasing from the blue ones.

Or something like that. I have not found the exact interpretation of this clip so if you’ve found it, please let me know.

In the mean time, enjoy =).

28 thoughts on “Let The Animation Talks

  1. Oooh, I love these sort of short animation features. My favorite is Le Maison en Petits Cubes (Tsumiki no Ie), which won an Oscar.

    Some other shorts I enjoyed:
    Rain Town
    Melody
    Diary of Tortov Riddle

  2. There was quite a lot of colour in that Life No Color.

    It was an interesting clip. I’m not sure I fully understood it, but maybe you aren’t supposed to in a single viewing.

  3. Very nice ^^
    I’ve only seen one other short animation (Draw With Me? I think was the title)

    As for what I understand from it, there really is some sort of division between the red shirts and the blue shirts, and the main guy expresses through that graffiti he made that he wants a “life with no color” like, there shouldn’t be divisions in the first place.

  4. I’ve watch a lot of this type of clips before.There are hidden meaning and meaning that you can see base on that clip. You probably need to view it more than once to understand it fully.

    What I understand is that the girl wants life without colours. Colours represent the level of society which should not be implemented (base on what the girl wants). Everyone should be the same whether they are rich or poor. That is why they call it ‘Life No Colour’

    It is a nice clip indeed. I’m very glad that you shared this. As an art student I truly love this short clip. It’s something to be inspired. It looks simple but yet complex at the same time. Guess I’ll keep this video, so I can be more inspired when doing my animation work 🙂

    • Hmmm…In a way, yes. I’d think the girl wants a life without the distinct representation of different levels in a society.

      I’m starting to like short clips such as this and as you’ve said, they are inspiring. What I like best about this clip is even with the absence of dialogues, it still tells a story.

  5. Very interesting, I would also think that it’s about social issues and discrimination because of the colour division. Mobility and cycle is another ongoing issue that I saw on this short film.

  6. It’s been a long time since I’ve watching one of these mini movies. My take on it was that the guy in the red shirt broke free from the societal chains that bound him to a stereotypical role by going in the direction of the blue shirts.

    • i do agree about the social interpretations for me its something like breaking free from these so called rules in witch you must live your life ( more like you’re free to do anything we say you can do ) witch in this case is the blue shirts and trying to be original, maybe even start a revolution ( like the guy does by making other guys go red ).

      • Interesting…I didn’t give much thought on the blue shirts, but now you’ve mentioned it, I’d agree that perhaps the girl in blue is also trying to break free from whatever rule that is binding her, not just the red shirt boy. Nice.

  7. Very nice, short and sweet. I like these types of animations. I think everyone pretty much said what I thought and then some already, and it’s always nice to see things like this that leaves interpretation up to our minds. Thanks for sharing ^^

    • You’re welcome =). Yeah, that’s one of the things I like about short animations such as Life No Color. It kind of challenges to think about the meaning of the clip.

  8. thats a nice artistic work, the composition of visuals, music and sounds is really good.
    I especially like this kind of chill out music. Well, it leaves some space for interpretation, I don’t know what the artist really had in mind ;).

    Once I saw such an artistic short clip called Amazing Nuts! it is a little bit more mainstream than this clip here, but still enchanting. Arc 2, Glass Eye and 3, Kung-Fu Love are awesome,

    • Yes, yes, I really like the music as well. It’s very soothing.

      Ah, sounds like there are loads more short animations out there I’ve not discovered yet. Thanks for sharing, I’ll get to them as quickly as I can. =)

Leave a Reply

