Spring Anime 2012 Watch List

Let’s see…I’ll try this with a different style. But if you’ve read my previous posts before, it’s a style I’ve used quite number of times. Oh, but before that here’s the Spring anime 2012 chart I reference to.

My train of thoughts when I was going through Spring Anime 2012 chart.

  • No way…I still can’t believe they make a Rock Lee anime (referring to Rock Lee no Seishun Full-Power Ninden)
  • Another football anime? (referring to Ginga e Kickoff!)
  • So cute! (referring to Arashi no Yoru ni Himitsu no Tomodachi)
  • A basketball anime?! (referring to Kuroko no Basuke) Right, I was supposed to watch Slam Dunk during my Chinese New Year break.
  • This reminds me of neopets. (referring to Jewelpet Kira ☆ Deko)
  • Oh look, Thomas and Friends! (referring to Kikansha Thomas)
  • Ah…Phi Brain has second season. That most likely means the first season was good. Put that to my waiting list.
  • I might need to scan through some of the previous episodes (referring Fate/Zero S2)
  • An investigation club. Ghost. Woooo. (referring Tasogare Otome X Amnesia)
  • Shining Hearts. That sound familiar.
  • Obsessed with zombie? Kiss a zombie? (referring to Sankarea)
  • I’m watching this! (referring to Natsuiro Kiseki)
  • Sakamichi no Apollon. I’ve read a lot about this.
  • Saki! Wait, where is Saki? At least, the summary mentioned Nodoka. (referring to Saki: Achiga-hen episode of side-A)
  • Mobile anime adaptation? What does that mean? (referring to Koi-ken!)
  • Hmmm…seems like there are lots of sports anime this season.

Okay, that’s roughly what went through my head. So it turns out Koi-ken is a mobile game so I guess that’s what it meant. I thought for a moment that is going to be an anime released via mobile apps on Android, iOS and WP7 platforms. Seriously.

Once again, like Winter 2012 list, the anime series or at least the summary written aren’t very exciting for me. I know there are a few titles that will catch the attention of others, especially the sequels. My rule of thumb is to never watch a sequel if I haven’t watched the first season. Nevertheless, I was able to pick up a few.

Saki: Achiga-hen episode of side-A

Honestly, I enjoyed Saki. I always joked about “Haitei Raoyue”, Koromo’s favorite move. A little overdramatic when she played the move but I’m okay with it. I don’t know what to expect of this except that I know I wouldn’t be seeing familiar faces all the way. I’m gonna just treat this as another mahjong anime, independent of the original Saki. I’ll just have to see what is Saki without Saki?

Sakamichi no Apollon

Coming of age? Jazz music? I’m in. At least, that’s what I read.

Natsuiro Kiseki

I was alerted by Rei about this series, which is why I immediately recognize it when I saw the chart. I’ve already decided to add this to my Spring 2012 list this after watching the PV weeks ago. I’m a slice-of-life fan and this looks sweet so really, is there a reason why I shouldn’t be watching this?

Once again, I’ll go through as much first episodes as possible, but definitely not all, especially not sequels before my final list for Spring Anime 2012 is confirmed.

P.S If you don’t see any thoughts listed for a particular anime, it’s probably because I’m not interested.

34 thoughts on “Spring Anime 2012 Watch List

  1. Actually. I won’t refer to Phi Brain first season as good.
    We’re talking about Sunrise there, they don’t always make the most logical choices.

    (And I totally fangirled at the prospect of a new Thomas anime XD)

    • Ah, okay. That’s for the heads up. Now I won’t be in a hurry to watch it.

      Haha, I remember a friend told me he bought the toy train for a few hundred bucks. Pricey.

  2. I almost feel as though this is a season to approach with caution. I can tell that there’s gonna be a lot of good things airing, but it’s difficult to tell exactly what. I just hope Apollon is among the good ones, though the odds are obviously high.

    • I’m not very much impressed with the titles this season for many reasons, but I think I’ll end up picking up a few more series as usual. Sometimes information floating around the Internet isn’t enough to determine what’s good and what’s not.

  3. There is a lot of anime that I think i’ll watch. First it will definitely be the 2nd season of Fate/Zero and also Kimi to Boku. As for the new anime I think I’ll watch Natsuiro Kiseki, Tsuritama,, Sakamichi no Apollon, Sankarea and Amnesia. I’m still not sure if I should give Hyou-ka a try or not and probably some football or basketball anime to pick this Spring. There is also some other interesting anime that I might watch such as Sengoku Collection and also Shining Hearts.

    This is going to be a hard… All the anime looks good..

    • I knew I forgot something! Yeah, I’ll be watching Fate/Zero as well. Want to see the continuation of that fight! The reason why I’m hesitant to pick up football or basketball anime is the fear of the series running too long. It’s not something I’m looking for at the moment.

      Haha, you’ll probably have more on your list once the season starts.

  4. Oh right the winter season is nearly over ^^ What I will watch for sure in the next season are Fate/Zero Part 2 and my beloved Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? as sequels.

    Shining Wind, Eureka Seven Ao, Accel World, Queen’s Blade Rebellion are other shows Im really looking forward to.

    I also watched a few trailers today and found a few more things that could be of interest for me, like Yurumates 3D, Sankarea, Arashi no Yoru ni, Medaka Box and Nyakuro-san.

    Natsuiro Kiseki had such a nice summer scenery I guess I will watch that as well =)

    .

    • Time sure does fly, doesn’t it? Whoa, you have a lot on your list as well. It’s going to be a fun season eh?

      What attracted me to Natsuiro Kiseki is the overall art style and the seemingly relaxing nature of the series. Something good to watch especially after a long day at work. =)

  5. A lot of choice for this season and some look damn good. For me it’s gonna be: Kimi to Boku 2, Tsuritama, Zetman, Kuroko no Basket, Sakamichi no Apollon and Uchuu Kyoudai

    • Seems like quite a number of people is picking the second season of Kimi to Boku. I haven’t watch the first season yet and I wasn’t planning to but now I might just pick it up. Hopefully before the second season starts.

  6. I have a lot on my plate come next season, and lol, we share the same sentiments for Ginga e Kickoff ^^

    Aww, no one seems to be as hyped up for Medaka Box as I am >.<

  7. Im not impressed with the spring line up, there’s like only 3 series im interested.
    Fate being the obvious choice, Hyouka because im a loyal kyoani fan and Amnesia because well i wanted a third.

    • Haha, I’m still on the fence about Amnesia. I saw the preview and stuff but it lacks the extra something that will ultimately made me wanna watch.

      After waiting for a few months, I really want to see the end of the Holy Grail war >.<

  8. Spring already? I haven’t even watched anything from winter season! Lol.

    Fate/Zero S2 is definitely on my list. Shining Hearts’ characters are beautiful so I might check that too. Hyou-ka sorta gave me a vibe similar to another anime which I couldn’t figure out at the moment. It looks interesting too.

  9. Agreeing with most, I’ll be watching Fate/Zero S2 as well, Hyouka also interests me because I’m a kyoani fan, Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? Jigoku Hen is something that I’ll also follow. Other than that I might check out is Upotte!!, Acchi Kocchi, Shining Hearts and Koi-ken! as well (I can afford to watch all since its summer ^_^)

    • Hyouka seems to be a popular choice. I might add that as well, depends on how it fares when it comes out later.

      Oh how I envy you right now. If I have summer holidays, I’m gonna put as much as I can on the list! >.<

  10. mmhmm..*nods* can’t watch a sequel without watching the first. Only limited to two sequels this season…Kimi to boku and Kore wa zombie…yup!

  11. I’m only interested in the sequels and Accel World so far. I’m not sure how Shining Hearts will turn out, but I like the artwork so I might watch it.

  12. Man, too many shows, probably not enough time. The first episodes for most are going to be critical. However, I have high hopes for Apollon, along with Space Bros, Amnesia, and Zetman (which you did not list. Wah>_<)

  13. This is actually my first time watching Saki’s trailer. I didn’t know that it’s not going to be the continuation of the original. It’s going to be on my list same with Apollon.

  14. Pingback: Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays (Spring 2012 Anime Edition Part II) « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

