Thoughts on Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva

Dare I compare Professor Layton with Detective Conan? Sure, they’re both mystery-solving series but they’re actually based on different approach. Detective Conan relies more on serious crime cases to satisfy audience’s thirst for mystery while Professor Layton’s emphasis is on puzzle games and fun little adventures. Even though I said that, I can’t help but be reminded of Detective Conan’s Full Score of Fear when I finally watched Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva.

The only reason for that is music. The Detective Conan’s 12th movie revolves around stage performances with pipe organs and the Professor Layton movie had something similar. Rest be assured, they are nothing similar story-wise.

I have played the first two Professor Layton games – The Curious Village and The Diabolical Box. That said, I’m quite familiar with how usually a mystery will play out – solve some puzzles and uncover the mystery. Throughout the movie, it had stay true in its format. The story follows Professor Layton and his no.1 apprentice, Luke Triton on a ship called Crown Petone, where they were invited to watch an opera performance of a friend. However, they along with others on board soon found themselves in a game organized by a mysterious man. The game consists of several puzzles and should the participants succeed in solving them, they will remain in the game and the elixir of life shall be rewarded to the last one standing.

The puzzles in the movie are so much simpler than the ones in the games. At least, the titles I played before. I suppose it’s done this way so that viewers get to solve the puzzles before characters did in the shortest amount of time! As long as one pays attention to the word play or just pay enough attention to what the puzzle is, the solution is crystal clear. It’s kind of disappointing actually because my sole reason for playing Professor Layton is the puzzles. I guess that’s also the reason why I wanted to watch the movie in the first place. >.< Not only were the puzzles simple, there were very few of them. Four, if I remember correctly. That’s such a small amount compared to the hundreds of puzzles in the games! Can you see my disappointment now? Considering the length of the movie though, it can’t be helped.

In terms of suspense, this movie fell short. It didn’t offer the mysterious atmosphere required to truly capture my attention. I was distracted by the puzzles and some of the minor things going on in the movie to be really paying attention to solving the mystery at hand. I’m not suggesting that anyone should be actively solving the mystery while watching the movie. Different people has different methods. I just happen to be the kind that likes to make guesses. It could also partly because a big part of me already know who’s behind the whole incident.

I ended up watching the movie in English because it simply feels weird to listen to Professor Layton speaking Japanese. But then again I had this awkward moment when the lyrics of opera performances were not translated and still in Japanese. I guess no one translates performances. If it’s the other way round, it may not feel as awkward…

14 thoughts on “Thoughts on Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva

  1. This is interesting. I’ve actually had the movie for a little while now, but haven’t watched it because I’m weird like that. I’m sure it’s still a good movie, though I guess it’s a good thing I have interests in the series aside from the puzzles, or I might not enjoy it as much.

    • I don’t think that’s weird. I have tons of anime that I’m suppose to watch and I know I want to watch but I still haven’t watch…

  2. If I’m really going to watch this, I want to play the games first. Are they fun? Going to have to marathon the whole series like a mad scientist if I really want to start, lol.

    • If you’re a puzzle lover like me, then the answer is yes. It’s really fun. You get to solve a mystery through a series of puzzles.

      Go, go! Start marathoning the games now! >.<

  3. 4 puzzles compared to the hundreds in the game… i feel your pain. T^T I wouldn’t mind it so much if the 4 puzzles were reasonably mind blowing. Not really complicated but having a twist that’s ingenious. xD

  4. Aww, that’s too bad. I loved the Layton series back when I had a working DS. I did kinda expect that they might tone down the puzzles for the movie, but 4 is just >.<

  5. 4 > 100, wth?! companies aren’t really doing the game’s legacy any justice by doing that. . . . . *sigh* That is quite disappointing >.<

    • My reaction was similar to yours. It is disappointing that there isn’t as much puzzles as I’d hoped for but the movie itself isn’t so bad. It’s worth watching, I’d say.

  6. I agree with you, the good part about any mystery is in the puzzles, it’s not as enjoyable if they’re too easy. I can’t say I’ve ever been interested in Professor Layton, it just feels too young for me.

    • The puzzles are what I look forward to the most everytime I play Professor Layton. The more difficult they are, the better. You can give it a try some day. I have friends who are older than me who enjoy playing this series.

  7. I love this movie. I’ve they were ever to make a series out of Layton it would be awesome.
    I really like everything about Professor Layton. The game was great so was this movie.
    Wish there was more. I also have a figure of Layton if you wanna see to make you jelly :p

    • If there’s a Layton series, I hope there’ll be a ton of puzzles! I’d love to see that happening.

      Awww, I want a Layton figure. Yes, now I’m jealous (even though I haven’t seen it yet). T.T

Leave a Reply

