Nonsensical Drama In Arakawa

A seemingly hyper-rational man knowingly threw himself into the craziness of residents of the riverbank. It’s all because he couldn’t live with the fact he has owed a stranger a favor. It’s not as if he lost his rationality, nor did he forgot about his pride. Ichinomiya Kou, or affectionately called Ric by the residents of riverbank, simply is one of them from the very beginning.

At least, that’s how I see it.

Each resident of Arakawa “underground” village has issues. I can’t say they are mentally challenged; they chose to live a very different lifestyle than the norm. Stripped of bizarre costumes and behaviors, their lifestyle is actually to die for – relaxing and stress free. All they care about is having fun and socializing with likeminded friends.

I mentioned about different lifestyle, bizarre costumers and weird behaviors, didn’t I? I wasn’t kidding. The moment Ric met the stranger, Nino, everything that follow suit didn’t quite make any sense. Given the characters introduced and the nature of the series, I shouldn’t expect any different.

Personally, I’d say Arakawa started out strong. With all the crazy outfits and characters, it’s fun. The events that happened right after Ric and Nino met were hilarious in a good way. Maybe because it was a period of character introductions and really, the characters are interesting. My problem with Arakawa really only started after all the residents made their first appearances.

Once the series is done with character introduction, it focused on the slice-of-life in Arakawa. This is when all things started to get dry. The daily activities aren’t very different from the usual four high school girls. There were festivals, more festivals, and even more festivals. Of course, their festivals are not without a twist. But that doesn’t save the sour taste left once I completed the series.

Despite the dots that never quite connect for me in Arakawa Under the Bridge, I appreciate the effort made in developing the main character, however little it is. Ric started as a rather obnoxious man. He hasn’t changed all that much except that he’s more considerate as the time goes by. He learns to be more sensitive of the needs and wants of his neighbors, particularly Nino’s.

In the end, Arakawa Under the Bridge is either a hit or a miss with audience. One would either immensely enjoy all things done in Arakawa style or not.

P.S Completing two seasons of Arakawa Under the Bridge also means I’ve completed my three goals. Yay to me!

4 thoughts on “Nonsensical Drama In Arakawa

  1. I think it’s the nature of such shows that they loose appeal after the characters are introduced. It’s the same with Setsubo Sensei. without a little storyline I get bored after watching one random episode after another. Of course these shows are hilarious, but something is missing.

    • I’d think my thoughts on Arakawa would fare better have I not watch the second season. The first season felt just about right, but the second felt terrible for my taste. I’m actually a fan of slice-of-life genre or any series without much storyline. However, it is also this kind of series that can easily be a hit or a miss for an audience. Too bad this one is a miss for me.

  2. I’d describe watching Arakawa as taking a slow scenic train ride; it’s fun to look around at, but when the view doesn’t really change after a while, we start thinking “man, are we there yet?”.

    I loved the first season because of the humor plus the nudges to some background plot on the Arakawa denizens. The second season was mostly gags, which were still funny, but not as, well, “magical”, as the first. But, if a Bridge x Bridge x Bridge comes along in the near future, I’d still watch it

    Congrats on finishing them goals 😀

    • The first season was okay for me. It’s the second season that drags down the show in terms of my personal enjoyment. I’m not saying Arakawa is a bad series; it’s not for me.

      Thank you. I’m really happy that I was able to complete them. Announcing them helps a lot, in a sense >.<.

Leave a Reply

