Akame Ga Kill: Deaths, Deaths, And More Deaths

Akame-ga-Kill

Akame Ga Kill! is one anime that doesn’t shy away from head on violence. Its common deaths involve decapitation, disfiguring and severing of limbs. Blood is a common sight. I still vividly remember the emotions that went through my entire being when Sheele was brutally murdered by Night Raid’s enemy. Experts say that we tend to remember emotions better than the scenes. And yes, they’re right. I don’t remember exactly how Sheele went down but I remember being utterly shocked.

Shock, because I never expected anyone to die. In a way, maybe it’s a good thing? At the very least, there’s an element of surprise. I supposed I was shocked because normally action-oriented anime have characters that are unintentionally immortal. Or at least, the anime titles that I saw have very little deaths. Sure, they’re seriously injured and covered in blood. Like I said, they’re “immortals”. So no matter how badly they’re hurt, I always expect to see them get up and fight again.

Akame

At first, I was worried Akame Ga Kill! will turn out to be a harem series because the series started slowly with the lead character, Tatsumi, being paired up with the various ladies of Night Raid to do certain chores. Fortunately for me, the series didn’t head towards that direction. Once Tatsumi familiarizes himself with what is required to become a Night Raid member, the story starts to pick up speed.

The political unrest that has been going on in Akame Ga Kill! has led to a lot of unnecessary bloodshed. Characters were created to kill and to be killed off. Powerful opponents of Night Raid include the Jaegers, Four Rakshasa Demons, Three Beasts and etc didn’t stay long. During the battles, the anime never fails to bring loads and loads of blood to your screen. The characters are even as sick as to enjoying skinning people alive just so he (Nyau of Three Beasts) could relish in the pains of his victims.

Akame Ga Kill Night Raid

However, it’s not to say that everyone who works for the Capital are bad people. They are Night Raid’s enemy regardless of their actual personality and sense of justice. Some people like Seryu wholeheartedly believes she’s doing the right thing for the justice she seeks after. Even though her actions sometimes come off like a person on the verge of losing their minds, her reasoning can be considered pure. Seryu badly wants to bring back the good into the Capital she loves so much. It’s a shame she never learns the truth about the government she’s so proud of. Otherwise, I’d think she makes a good Night Raid member.

Personally, if anyone asks me about Akame Ga Kill!, I’ll probably unconsciously say that it’s the series that kills most of its characters. I couldn’t help it. Week after week, some characters, familiar or not, will be killed one way or another. In most situations, they’re brutally murdered. I suppose, it’s true to its title which translates as Akame Slashes!, except not all deaths are caused by Akame. It’s not easy to stomach in the amount of violence that present, although I’m sure there are much more violent anime out there.

Esdeath Vs Akame

There are that much tortures and bloodshed in the series because of the social and political problems that exist in the universe in which the characters live in. The rampant corruption among government bodies which led to poverty among nations. The dark side of political agendas orchestrated by the very people whom the nations trusted. I suppose, it painted a realistic picture of what would be like in a world where injustice prevails. Realistic picture when we minus off stuff like Imperial Arms, that is.

Anyway, Akame Ga Kill! goes down to the history as a highly memorable series just because of the staggering number of character’s deaths. If you haven’t seen it, you have no idea. Akame Ga Kill!, I won’t forget you!

7 thoughts on “Akame Ga Kill: Deaths, Deaths, And More Deaths

  1. Sure, the author has some freedom in creating such a work of fiction, still it rarely happens. Normally they don’t kill more than one likeable character,
    if at all because it’s an upsetting experience for the viewer. On rare occasion, someone’s dead would improve the experience, though.

    Some people don’t like that happy outcome when someone was heavily injured, but magically survives with the help of plot armor.
    There is a thing like meaningful deaths, that changes something important to influence the story or the further actions of the Hero.

    Another way of using deaths as element is exploitation, to gain popularity, since some viewers like the thrill of getting shocked and some just enjoy violence.
    Back in school we watched a hollywood movie about racism, as one was shot in the head with lots of blood one girl was shouting “awesome”, haha teenagers are cruel XD

    Since Katanagatari I react pretty emotional if someone dares to hurt/kill my girl… ehh the character ^^ I really like.
    After Sheele was murdered in a cruel way I was disturbed, I hate it. I stopped watching then, I thought about watching it again, but oh well,
    shortly before the end I heard that another character I really liked would die as well, strangely she’s still alive in the manga ;p

    It’s no show for me

    • I agree that some deaths are necessary to move forward. I see Ace’s death in One Piece is an instrumental change of how the story progressed so far. Things changed, people changed after that incident. While some people were fuming at his death, I thought it’s a pretty good idea. But here in Akame Ga Kill!, I can’t say the same. Maybe some deaths are needed to make the audience feel the urgency of their situation and how corrupted and horrible the government was. But with that many deaths, it became some kind of a gimmick. I don’t know if gimmick is the correct word to use. Like they’re killing off characters for shock factors.

      You’re probably right about some people not liking characters escaped deaths so frequently as well. Especially if it’s the same character. At this point, I can’t think of any character of any anime series that has been that lucky though, lol.

      Haha, I don’t think anyone likes to see their favorite characters die.

  2. What do you think of the deaths in Akame ga Kill? (Didn’t read all of Wiselhead’s comment and your reply :p)

    I personally think they overused it. Deaths are great when used right, they have an element of surprise, for sure, but they also serve as great catalyst in how it effects other characters, developments, or maybe try-and-fail cycles, etc… Of cause, this doesn’t apply to anime like Attack on Titan, but the problem in Akame ga Kill’s deaths is that the author is clearly aiming for us to care and sympathize about these deaths, that’s good and all, of cause, just that they are very poorly executed. Somewhere down the line, the deaths just become too predictable.

    • I think they’re all shocking when it comes to members of Night Raid and a few other notable characters. I mean, people I didn’t expect to die and normally wouldn’t die in a typical anime, died. So yes, shocking would be the best word to describe what I think about the deaths.

      But all those deaths necessary? Not all of them are. Some, I feel, are made for the sake of killing off characters. Some, however, are used to progress to plot further especially how the survivors are supposed to be more determined to pursue justice and all. In this case, I would deem them necessary.

      Yes, I agree. When a death of a character is used right, in the right place and on a right timing, it’s actually a good thing. We would then be able to relate to the events that would happen later on, etc. But deaths in Akame Ga Kill…how to say…as suppose as you would have said it: Overused.

      It’s a shame, really.

  3. I don’t even know what to say. I marathoned this thing but stopped at episode 21 because it was getting hard to breathe. I wasn’t expecting such characters I die, and I think it really brings out the soft and caring side of others and it shows how those characters fought so hard only to die, but they didn’t die for nothing. This anime personally is a big favorite of mine because of the, “death is a part if life, we gotta keep going” plot.

    • Yes, I wasn’t expecting characters to die too. I suppose not meeting that part of expectations is a good thing itself. At least, a lot of us will remember this series for it.

      The soft and caring side is probably best describe members of Night Raid. How they care for each other in the midst of a very chaotic life. And that they are willing to risk their lives just to make sure the other members are okay, but at the same time, willing to move on when the damage is done. The moving on part is perhaps the toughest.

  4. Pingback: Hai to Gensou no Grimgar: Mourning Manato | World of Yamaguchi Hoshiko

Leave a Reply

