Thoughts On Ookami Shoujo To Kuro Ouji

Ookami Shoujo To Kuro Ouji

The story centers around Erika Shinohara, a vain 16-year-old girl who tells her friends about her romantic exploits, but she actually has no boyfriend. She claims that a handsome boy in a candid photo is her boyfriend, but it turns out that boy is a schoolmate named Kyōya Sata. She has no choice but to make him her fake boyfriend. Unfortunately, Sata may look like a sweet person, but he is actually an ultra-black-hearted sadist. Sata takes advantage of Erika’s weakness and treats her like his dog

– Wikipedia

Wolf Girl

Probably I’ll forget about this series a few years down the road, but at the mean time while I still remember it, I gotta say, I enjoyed it very much.

The more I think about Wolf Girl and Black Prince, the more I think that it’s a bit strange for me to enjoy it as much as I did. Among all the anime titles I followed this season, Wolf Girl and Black Prince is one of the two series I kept myself up to date with on weekly basis. The other being Shirobako. I watch it every week, almost religiously.

You want to know about the main gist of the story? As the brief summary is enough to tell you, it’s about a relationship that started out as a make belief to something that’s real.

So why is it strange?

Ookami Shoujo

During the first few episodes, the series stuck close to its title. Meaning to say, Erika plays the girl who can’t stop lying while Kyoya is the handsomest boy in school with a hidden dark personality. When Erika managed to convince Kyoya to be her fake boyfriend, he unleashed the devil within, stripping off his charming shell and tormented Erika emotionally.

Okay, it probably isn’t as horrifying as I made it sound. It was funny and I loved watching them together.

But somewhere along the episodes, when those two started to actually like each other, the whole story strays away from its title’s meaning. Now, I’m not complaining. I just find it odd. Erika is hardly an extreme liar anymore (still exaggerates) and Kyoya isn’t as dark as he used to be. I suppose it’s a good thing to see the characters’ behavior changed over time, but with a title that so loudly define each character’s behavior, I feel a bit…cheated.

Despite that, I enjoyed it all. Haven’t I already said that?

Black Prince

The relationship between Kyoya and Erika is always teasing and downright hilarious. Though they had a pretty rough start, they ended up being pretty great together. I probably will never understand why Erika would choose someone like Kyoya to like. You know what, I don’t think she understands it herself. However, thinking back, the nature of their relationship revolves around the idea give and take. Erika put up with Kyoya’s constant teasing and tough front while Kyoya’s willing to do the things Erika wanted even though he personally dislikes it. That’s nice, don’t you think?

If anything, I feel that the 12 episodes are not enough to tell the whole story of Kyoya. To me, his character has a little bit more depth when compared to Erika. There’s a constant nag at the back of my head wondering what the story of Kyoya is. Why did he ended up being so hot and cold?

Anyway, this is just some random thoughts on Wolf Girl and Black Prince that I have. Here’s another reason why I tune in to watch: the OP song. I haven’t actually enjoyed an OP song for a long time now. So to share that with you all, I’m going to leave you with the song which I love so much because the music is that catchy.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts On Ookami Shoujo To Kuro Ouji

  1. The description indeed sounds like the poor girl will suffer a lot, fortunately it’s Shoujo manga and that is supposed to head into a romantic direction ;D I haven’t heard of it until now, but it’s probably something I could enjoy. I will watch it, after clearing my watch list before the new season.

    • Haha, don’t worry. She didn’t suffer long. That I can tell you. It’s very light series, good for laughing after a day’s hard work. Or else I wouldn’t be as addicted to the show as I was. Kinda miss it now that it has ended. T.T

  2. Finished ^^
    Erika was voiced by Itou, Kanae so I instantly liked it. High School romance can be difficult for girls, I was surprised that so many bad types of boys were shown. Well, at this age girls often prefer “bad guys” types. Haha so much shocking realism in this shoujo anime ;p

    The show was really fun at first, it somehow lost momentum in the second half and it was filled with more random events, like introducing the womanizer. Maybe they also rushed things a little, which lowered my fun with the show. I also noticed that Erika turned more stupid as soon as she reached her goal XD She totally dumped the nice guy, he really wasn’t that exciting, but man I got angry at her.

    The last scene was great in terms of romance. Even though Kyoya was tamed I’m not sure if I should feel happy for Erika to be together with that guy. He did really mean things to her, the scene at the restaurant was just cruel, it was partially her fault for believing this prank, but still it was heartless.
    The date and birthday episodes were really fun, it was interesting to see Kyoya hated all romantic ideas in the first one, riding the boat is fun, believe it ^^. I also thought that Erika was too demanding that day.

    On an anime board there was a serious discussion about Erika being a masochist, who enjoys to be treated this way.

    Ookami Shoujo To Kuro Ouji can’t compare with shows like Kimi ni Todoke, but still it was a good watch. btw, I really liked the ending song.

    • I think Kyoya and Erika are both figuring out their new relationship together, but it’s good to see that most times they tolerate each other, accepting what the other doesn’t like and doing what makes the other happy. I suppose it takes sacrifice to do that? Haha.

      I like Erika better when she’s the big bad wolf who tells lie. She’s a lot funnier during that period. Lol, masochist or not, I don’t know. Perhaps she sees something in Kyoya we all can’t see. The thing is Kyoya can be nice if he wants to. But it’s hard to imagine him being good when he’s so mean in the beginning…

      Of course they can’t compare. For one thing, I’m not sure if I’ll remember this series forever, but Kimi Ni Todoke, I’m pretty sure I’ll remember it. The storytelling between both series is too far apart, in my opinion. I like the OP song! So I guess that means both of its songs are good!.

      • Yes, by the end they got closer to a balanced relationship between Erika’s romantic demands and Kyoya’s denyng ^o^

        Erika could have lied a bit more actually ahaha. Kyoya is probably fun to have around still I have a hard time imagine him as a girls favorite choice I liked as he made the girl catch the stick XD But playing with Erika’s heart was bad after all.

        Yeah it’s no fair comparison, but a good Benchmark for my entertainment of this genre at least.

Leave a Reply

