When Watching With Expectations

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Was it high expectation? Or did I miss something? Because I didn’t enjoy watching Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso as much as I thought I would be. When I stopped at episode four when the series just started airing, I thought the series would better watched consecutively rather than weekly. It has that sort of story development that will put me at the edge of my seat.

At least, that’s what I thought.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Instead of having a fun classical music ride with strong character development such as in Nodame Cantabile, I found myself getting agitated over the episodes in which they focus more on Tsubaki’s internal struggle with her feelings and jealousy of Kaori and Kousei. Rather than being entirely focus on the dynamics of Kaori and Kousei, I had to watch Tsubaki trying to sort out her feelings messily.

When the scene focused more on Kousei and Kaori though, things got a tiny bit better. Kousei struggled to overcome his psychological hindrance when it comes to playing piano. He was too consumed with guilt of his mother’s death that it affected his ability to do the only one thing he knows best. As he slowly breaks out from his past and embrace the future with Kaori’s little push, he emerged as a different kind of pianist, but still regarded as amazing nonetheless. By doing so with baby steps, it makes Kousei much more relatable.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

The extra focus that has been put Tsubaki perhaps should have put on Kaori’s struggle with her illness. Not all anime viewers want to see a sappy anime, I suppose. However, by instilling deeper grief and despair, it creates much more a sense of urgency. And in extend, a much more unforgettable series.

I mean, I barely know how Kaori felt. She looked happy and upbeat for the most part. Being diagnosed with something so fatal, we as audience didn’t really know her feelings. She’d masked her true feelings for the most part of the series. Sure, she expressed despair, loss of will to live, motivation for attaining newfound dreams. But surely those aren’t enough to paint a proper picture of a person living with illness. Furthermore, these emotions are all delivered in a lightning speed there’s really no time to sink in.

Perhaps I shouldn’t set expectation. I was hoping for something to meet the standards Nodame Cantabile had set. I shouldn’t have done that. But the fact is I did. That probably was the biggest error coming into watching Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso. I wonder, will my opinion be different had I not have those expectations…

15 thoughts on “When Watching With Expectations

  1. This show has a monster rating, it’s crazy to see that.
    Don’t feel bad about not really getting what you expected here,
    some even hated this melodramatic anime. I’ve read that it is quite polarizing.
    I never got into anime with violins and piano and you can hunt me with most classical music anyway lol.

    Watching with high expectations probably is something risky, though it depends on how clear your expectations are in advance. I can’t really remember the last time I expected more than I got, maybe the last season of Shakugan no Shana was my worst experience in that regard.

    As you compared it to Nodame Cantabile, maybe new anime can’t bring out the magic of previous years,
    most things these days are rushed, well Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso at least had 22 episodes, enogh to create a good story actually.

    • I’m aware that the series is popular given the amount of positive tweets and posts I read. It could’ve been good to me too if I had not watch the series with such expectations. At least that’s what I thought when I wrote this post. In hindsight, I probably will still dislike the series given the drama that wasn’t well executed. Hehe.

      I agree with you. It’s definitely risky to watch a series with expectations. It’s something we ought to set aside before picking up a series. That’s one thing I need to learn after this. >.<

  2. Forced drama pretty much, it got to the point where I couldn’t even feel any sympathy for Kaori, even if I should, lol. But even so, I like the last episode though, it felt like all the dramatic chaos the author wrote is all for this very conclusion. It feels like (although I’m not sure, and it’s probably not true) he wrote the ending first, then wrote the other parts of the story to join the ending.

    (Also, did a write-up for the ending myself sometime ago. Here’s some shameless advertising xD)
    https://deluscar.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/the-finale-of-kimiuso/

    • By right, if done right, I’d feel for Kaori. If the emotions were projected at the right place with the right amount, this could easily be an excellent series. When I learned that she had illness, I was thinking perhaps it’ll play the emotional card and make it sad and sappy. Turns out, I didn’t even come close to shedding a tear…

      Haha, I agree. It’s as if the author had planned all along someone’s gonna die. Unfortunately, the build up wasn’t as good as it could’ve been. It’s a shame, really. I’d say it’s a series with potential. Too bad it fell short in many ways.

  3. I’m actually still watching Shigatsu, I have about 5 episodes left. I think the lack of focus on Kaori is intentional in order to portray more of what Kousei is feeling. To him, Kaori is sort of like a mystery, something that he can only dream of reaching. By keeping her screentime down, the audience would feel the same way towards her. Of course, I still need to see the ending to see how things pan out.

  4. well, talk about expectation, I started watch this because simple reason. (people talked about this lately, back then) So I tried it too since I like about music (violin, piano). I found this is not very interesting in beginning but when the MC played for himself and played for his mother, both of them full of many emotions. I even wondered why people talk about this anime so much, so I understand a little.

  5. it almost a year after this anime series ends eh… can I joining?
    I think drama is a good genre IF there is no silly jokes here and there.
    even I didn’t cry in the last episode… whatever they say I’m not a human or something like that, honestly I didn’t get the feel at all… 😦
    eeh but yeah, at least it has some really really good music! speaking about good music, Mirai Nikki appears in my mind… (the plot far from music but great OP, ED, and BGM)

    • I’d say this anime is a bit of a mess. There were too many things going on when it should’ve focused more on Kousei and Kaori, in my opinion. I don’t remember crying in the last episode. The way the series was produced, let’s just say that any attempt to project emotions is lost on me. Right now after almost one year, all I remember about Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is the annoying feeling watching Tsubaki being jealous and all.

      I didn’t watch Mirai Nikki, but I can think of a few anime with bad story but good music. First name off the top of my head is Guilty Crown.

      You can join in any posts anytime! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      • maybe that’s true that original (manga) is better than anime… I don’t have time to check manga version tho.

        Mirai Nikki anime is bad really really bad, the ending was cliffhanger… just read the manga, a lot better than anime (and the ending was not cliffhanger). my favorite character is the subcharacter, Minene the terrorist! nobody hate her! 😀

Leave a Reply

