The Anime Interrogation Game

A week ago (I think), I was tagged by Yerocha for this game. His questions sound fun so I’m gonna give it a try. To know a little more about what The Anime Interrogation Game is, head to Iso’s blog here.

The rules of game are:-

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Now that the rules are clear, I’ll begin answering Yerocha’s questions. Below are my answers.

1. What is your biggest anime/manga guilty pleasure?

I have two – Lucky Star and Hidamari Sketch. It’s very hard for me to choose, but if I really have to pick one, it’s Lucky Star. I never get tired of it even though I watched the series many times. They make me smile. Always.

2. How do you usually acquire anime or manga legally?

With anime, I usually go to local CD stores. Well, I think it’s legal although chances are those are bootlegs. They come with government certification stickers and everything but the video quality is bad and sometimes the subtitles are terrible. Even me, a person who barely understands Japanese, knows that the subtitle is wrong. That’s bad right?

With manga, I usually buy from Kinokuniya. Because there isn’t any Kinokuniya in my city, I only buy my manga when I go to places that have the book store such as Kuala Lumpur or Singapore. I’d have buy online but the shipping fee is crazy. Since I travel quite often, I’ll just wait till a few volumes are released before I buy them.

3. What’s the weirdest reason you’ve had to start a series?

Because I kept seeing figmas of Izumi Konata (Lucky Star) at a local figure store and everywhere (exaggerating but can’t be far from truth) online, I picked up the series.

4. What series from the new anime season are you most looking forward to?

Hidamari Sketch. It’s always a pleasure watching the girls going about in their everyday lives. Or it could be that I’m just happy to see Miyako again.

5. *What character do you aspire to be like?

Chiaki Shinichi from Nodame Cantabile. It seems like an odd choice, isn’t it? I can explain this. To me, Chiaki is someone who’s really passionate about what he’s doing. When he’s in the zone, he is in the zone. Nothing else can disrupt him. He has full dedication towards music career and is single-minded about it (he wavers a little in the beginning but there’s a good reason for that). I guess what I want to be is a person who found what she really wants to do in her life and has full dedication to and passionate about. That makes life fun.


I think there’s still a week before the deadline so probably there’s still time for the bloggers I’m tagging to answer the five questions. I’m tagging WieselheadFeal, Yippy, TsurugiArashix and Michael. My questions are:-

1. *What or who inspired you to start your blog?

The ability to share my opinions on anime-related topics. I’ve always been lurking around different anime blogs before finally decided to start my own. It seems fun to be able to discuss what I think about certain things. Reverse Thieves makes it look so easy.

2. What is your favorite anime/manga series that was released in the last two years?

I think it’s really obvious that I’m going to say Kimi ni Todoke. The two seasons found their way to my yearly top anime list. I’m a huge fan so maybe I’m a little biased. The anime prompted me to read the manga and I’ve been a faithful reader ever since.

3. What is your favorite OP or ED song from the Summer Anime 2012 series?

Love Letter from Nanika” by ecosystem, the OP song from Uta Koi. To be honest, I don’t necessarily think the song suited the series overall package, but damn, that’s one good song.

4. Which anime do you think deserves a second season? If possible, please explain why.

Skip Beat!. Because there are a lot of good material from the manga that make good anime material.

5. If there’s anything you can change about the anime/manga/figure industry, what would it be?

I’m okay with whatever anime/manga industry is offering at the moment. I don’t have too many complaints about it since I always find something I enjoy. As for figure industry though, frankly, I’d want less Hatsune Miku figures. I’ll probably receive a lot of hate for saying this but seriously, there are way, way too many of them.

That’s all. Probably boring but very easy questions right? It’s fun trying to come up with questions but not so when I have to answer them myself!! >.<

15 thoughts on “The Anime Interrogation Game

  1. Thanks for the nomination Hoshiko. I can’t really make a full post due to schedule, but I will answer your questions here!

    1) Micchi from http://omochikaeri.wordpress.com/ . We were on MSN talking when I got this idea of a wallpaper blog that inspired me. 😀
    2) Fate/Zero, that series is simply AWESOME!
    3) OP from Nyaruko! Catchy, funny and over-the-top is the WAY! 🙂
    4) Haiyore Nyaruko-san! I would love to have more funny parody with those characters…*_*
    5) Less costly DVD/BD for sure. That way I would be able to rack up with more instead of being limited with few series…:)

    • You’re welcome, and thanks for taking your time answering my questions =).

      Ah…didn’t get to watch Nyaruko! yet. You seem to have so much fun with it. That’s a good sign. Lol, I’d love that as well – cheaper DVD/BD. That way, I’ll have all the collection of my favorite series!! Good one there.

  2. I’m learning a lot about people from their answers to the legal anime question. I was expecting much more simple answers, like comic shops or something, but I guess it isn’t quite that easy in a lot of places.

  3. Thank you for nomination ^^. It is going to take me awhile to come up with questions though, since nothing interesting comes to mind.

    Couldn’t agree more with on Hidamari Sketch. Although, Tamayura’s second season has me excited in the slice-of-life arena.

  4. In regards to the legal anime questions, I can actually relate to it. The DVDs I bought from shops sometime have such bad subtitles that I would prefer the good old fansubs instead. Likewise, I don’t think there’s any places here which sells manga so I will have to order them, or similarly go to Singapore or somewhere to get them. When I went to Singapore last time, I saw they even sell full volumes of Shana novels. It’s completely impossible to see those here in Brunei.

    • Original English manga copies are easily accessible in Singapore, I believe they have it in other shops besides Kinokuniya. Over here in Malaysia, there are loads of BM and Chinese copies. Not sure if they are legal because the quality of the product is not as good as the ones I have. Like for example, the cover is very soft (paper-like) compared to the English ones from Kinokuniya.

  5. Pingback: Good Cop, Bad Cop with Yippy (The Anime Interrogation Game) | Sekijitsu - せきじつ

  6. Pingback: The Anime Interrogation Game | Kujo's Zone

  7. Pingback: World of Yamaguchi Hoshiko | Kujo's Zone

  8. Pingback: The Anime Interrogation Game | Kujo's Zone

  9. It’s nice to know more about the people I read about. Thanks for sharing, Hoshiko. ^^

    I can see that you really like Kimi ni Todoke. I guess I should pick up that series too. Btw, I started to watch Tari Tari and I kinda like it ^^

    • You’re welcome >.<.

      I personally think Kimi ni Todoke is the best shojo series there is out there at the moment. But then again, I'm a huge fan so I can a little bias :P.

      It's great to know that you're watching Tari Tari! It's a fun series. I always like to see what the gang will do to keep their club going =).

  10. Pingback: The Anime Interrogation Game

Leave a comment